Blood Analysis

Okay. Now that A is history and those pesky ADVERBS are under control, on to the letter B.

I’m a crime-fiction writer. One of my WIPs is a police procedural and the other WIP is a crime novel. There will be blood!

One of the courses I studied with the Open University was on Forensic Science. I’m no expert, but I thought I would take advantage of the A to Z theme and impart a few ideas to stimulate your own crime writing.

Those squeamish may stop here though I don’t think this is a graphic post. It could have been worse!

Bloodstain Pattern Analysis – Think about the direction of the patterns and how they might help your Crime Scene Investigator and lead Detective understand the scene. The height of the patterns and the angles will inform them on the trajectory of the blows. This might give you a clue as to how tall your evil antagonist is, for example.

Active Bloodstains – Think impact. Non-natural movement of blood by force. So, Professor Plum, in the library with the candlestick! This would also help your Detective understand how the scene progressed through the time-line of the crime. How many blows, directionality based on the pattern of the drops. Could you use a void in the pattern to emphasise a key piece of evidence removed from the scene?

Transfer – So, your killer thinks they’ve escaped the scene and gotten away with it. Think again. They will have transferred droplets of blood on anything they had with them at the scene. How did they travel away from the crime? Drive away? Then their car could have transfer on the seats, or the door handles. Their clothes, the murder weapon, their skin, hair. Don’t forget that void from the piece of evidence they’ve taken with them, which would be covered in blood. There are many possibilities to consider in your story.

And, not all the blood at the scene will necessarily be from the victim. Did the killer nick themselves with the murder weapon. Will more than one person show up when they analyse the DNA, but that’s for another day. I hope I’ve given you a few ideas to how you could use the blood evidence in your stories.

Happy Crime Writing!

*
A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is my B post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be found here.

Today’s pictures are of our first family cat: Billy. He started his life living rough in the grounds of a steel works. He was a lovely cat and this first photograph is one of my all time favourite shots.

Cat and balloon

How do I communicate with this thing?

Billy

Bored now.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Blood Analysis

  1. WRITERachael says:

    I admit I haven’t attempted crime writing yet but your post has certainly given me food for thought!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Excellent. I mainly read crime so tend to write that too. I think it’s good to mix up the writing genres from time to time.

      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  2. elegsabiff says:

    Oh, excellent – I write whodunits and have so far smothered, shot and hanged my victims, following an expert will give me lots more ways to dispatch the next few!

  3. I’ll be watching this advice – though I don’t write crime there are a couple of criminal events I could spice up! Useful.

  4. Sylvia says:

    Love the pictures! I’m so glad to have found your blog. New follower here. I’m stopping by from the “A to Z challenge” and I look forward to visiting again!

    Sylvia
    http://www.writinginwonderland.blogspot.com/

  5. Joe Owens says:

    There are some specifics related to blood that any good writer should know. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.

  6. Hello, Pete! Your cats are adorable. Very interesting post. I’m sure there’s sooo much research involved when writing crime novels. Good thing you’re not squeamish!

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  7. Yay! Any blog post that includes forensics and cat pictures is a winner in my book πŸ™‚

    ~ Rhonda Parrish

  8. dmacsf says:

    Great post, it’s like CSI πŸ˜€
    (Billy ‘bored now’ – lol! )

    Deb Mc.
    http://dmaccreativefog.wordpress.com/category/a-to-z/

  9. Oh, man, this was one very interesting post. Can’t tell you how much I like mysteries, and by association police procedurals and such. Yeah, many possibilities to consider in our stories. On the DNA part, my answer would be no, but I’ll return for more …
    Silvia @ Silvia Writes

  10. I am glad you ended your grisly B post with lovely cats!

  11. Pingback: B for Bestseller | My corner of the world

  12. I’m not or intend to be a crime writer, but I watch enough TV crime drama to know exactly what you’re talking about =)

  13. transformednonconformist says:

    I’m a big fan of the show Dexter</a. and he plays a blood splatter analyst for Miami Metro.

    Dropping by from A to Z. This is my first year participating.

    Brett Minor
    Transformed Nonconformist

  14. auntyamo says:

    I love watching CSI and Criminal Minds so all of those terms etc do make sense. But I doubt I’d be confident enough to write it…
    I’ll stick with Lizzy for now. There was a couple of drops of blood when she crashed her bike.. πŸ™‚

  15. bronbloxham says:

    Nah… I can deal with blood, it’s broken bones I’m not good at! Great photos of Billy, must have been a real character!

  16. robincoyle says:

    I am well-versed in forensics thanks to CSI. Do they run that on TV in England?

  17. One of the best mystery/crime writer conferences I ever attended was Killer Nashville. I learned about lock picking, blood spatter, and search and rescue dogs–all in one weekend! πŸ™‚

  18. ocdreader says:

    I love your kitty pics, I had a Cleo that looked like Billy, but little. She was a pain in the butt and followed me around like she was a puppy, but she was so amazing too.

  19. Julie says:

    I find Forensic Science fascinating. Thanks for detailing different types of blood analysis. Oh, and the photo of your cat yawning is adorable!

  20. Pingback: DNA | Pete Denton - Writer

  21. cassmob says:

    I’m a crime novel fiend so I enjoyed this post a lot. Also love those cats!

  22. Pingback: Fingerprints | Pete Denton - Writer

  23. noelleg44 says:

    Just about to publish my first murder mystery – look for it on Kindle for cheap around May.1: Death in a Red Canvas Chair. Sample prologue is on my site – and yes, there is blood! Enjoyed your choice for B.

  24. EllaDee says:

    The A-Z challenge is quite interesting… and I’ll be very happy if you feature 26 cats πŸ™‚

  25. Pingback: Inspirational Photos: K is for KILLER CLIFFS, Suspects and Murder Mysteries | Organization and Inspiration for Fellow Writers

  26. Pingback: Research | Pete Denton - Writer

Let me know what you think

