Space. The Final Obsession …

If you’ve been here a while then you know I have an obsession a fascination with space.

Whether it be the Mars One project, which my wife would probably still like me to try to gatecrash or the current fascination amongst the British media: The International Space Station.

38271_earth_night_earth_view_from_iss

Not sure who to credit for this image. It is from http://www.blastr.com/2015-5-25/nasa-astronaut-films-breathtaking-view-night-sky-iss and photo is possibly from Terry W. Virts during his time on ISS

You see, we have a British Astronaut – Major Tim Peake – on board and it’s created a bit of a buzz over here in UK’land. The first time we’ve had a UK funded astronaut in space.

Our news programmes and papers are reporting on everything and anything that seems to be going on whether it be his arrival, yesterday’s spacewalk or even when he rang the wrong number from space and said, “hello, is this planet Earth?”.

After his spacewalk yesterday, he tweeted a selfie (as you do) taken while waiting to do the planned repairs.

You would think that being interested in Science Fact as well as Science Fiction, I would read or write in that genre. At least write the odd short story, or have plans for an epic series of novels based on the happenings in a galaxy far, far, far, far away…

For some reason, I don’t have ANY plans to do either.

I last read a science fiction book about 4 years ago. I’ve never written anything in the genre and doubt that I ever will. I prefer my science fiction feasting to be in televisual format.

Is there a particular interest/obsession in your life that would neatly suit a particular genre that you don’t either read in or write on? Or is it just me that’s weird?

Btw, three Saturdays into 2016 and I’ve managed to post on each of them so far. Go me 🙂

As always, thanks for reading.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in General, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Space. The Final Obsession …

  1. noelleg44 says:

    I do like science fiction and rue that I was born too early to try to be an astronaut!

  2. writinghouse says:

    I love the space stuff too – I still get excited to watch a launch, it’s a shame the public only seem interested when the BBC do a special programme. I want to scream “BUT IT’S SPACE!” but no one can hear you scream about space so I don’t. A British astronaut, spacewalking and everything – I am SO jealous!

  3. Hey Pete! Missed you!

    We just watched Interstellar with Matthew McConaughey — I didn’t really like it, but only because science fiction confuses me! There’s another reason I was confused, but I don’t want to spoil it if you haven’t seen it. Hubs loved it.

    Space is a little daunting to me. My idea of traveling through space is on Walt Disney World’s classic roller coaster ride, Space Mountain. 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    I love astronomy and the “older” sci-fi stories, but not so much the newer ones. I do have a near-complete rewrite of my time travel story done, but it’s been sitting on the back burner while I work on something completely different.

  5. Kourtney Heintz says:

    That’s interesting to love sci-fi but not write about it. Then again, once you start writing about it, the pure fun aspect isn’t there. I mean it’s still fun but work gets tangled up in it too. I tend to read and watch what I write–so lots of paranormal and fantasy with hints of mystery. 🙂

    It’s great to see you posting again! I missed your blog.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Kourtney. Nice to be back. I think I probably find writing sci-fi more daunting than crime. Maybe I have an epic sci-fi novel in me yet 🙂

      • Kourtney Heintz says:

        You just might have one percolating in there. 🙂 I do too. Plotting has to be intricate with a mystery/thriller, but the worldbuilding rules can get you so ensnared in fantasy and sci-fi. When I’m in the midst of revisions, sometimes I wish I just wrote a straight mystery instead of having all these fantastical elements that can’t contradict themselves.

Let me know what you think