Wait, it’s nearly April?

My good intentioned plans for posting in 2016 dried up as quickly as it started. My writing/editing of the novel I began writing in 1923 (seems that long ago) almost started. Almost.

Over the lasts few weeks I’ve given myself a good talking to. Where did I want to go with my writing/blogging? Was is time to shelve my plans? Drop the dream?

My levels of motivation have been low for a couple of years when it comes to the “sit down and write” part of the process. I can still talk a good game, still plan editing or writing. Planning for tomorrow is always easy.

I’ll start editing tomorrow …

First thing in the morning I’ll …

You know the drill. Live in the plan and not the present. For me, the present is being lazy and doing something requiring little energy like watching TV or playing Clash of Clans!

The conversations I have with myself return to the same answer:

I. AM. NOT. DONE. YET.

So rather than plan for tomorrow, today I decided the only way to make the fresh start was to live in the moment. To do it and not think about doing it later. I read a great post today by Kate, the 4am writer on the 5 Wrong Reasons to Quit Writing. One of the reasons included the phrase: if you want it badly enough.

My mind will not leave the stories alone. It won’t let me forget about the characters and step away from them for good. I do want to do this so I have to take action.

So, this morning I ploughed through my inbox for the first time in months. Cleared out the clutter, visited a number of bloggers, wrote this post, but more importantly …

I spent over an hour editing! Actual time in front of my laptop editing. AND I LOVED IT!

One session does not put everything right. I know I need to keep at it and back it up with more hours, more scenes and chapters. Find a routine that works for me again. This is a small step, I know, but at least I made that step.

Spring has sprung and I want to look ahead.

How is your 2016 shaping up now we’re nearly a quarter of the way through the year?

Thanks for reading.

Completely unrelated, but this picture helped me!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Camp Nano, General, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wait, it’s nearly April?

  1. noelleg44 says:

    I feel the same way – took ten days away from the computer,blogging, editing etc – vacation. Now time to get back to it, but dang, it’s spring….

    • Pete Denton says:

      British Summer Time started yesterday and today it was bitterly cold this morning when I went to work. Typical! Good luck getting back into the swing of things again 🙂

  2. Love the picture. Made me really laugh out loud.

    I’ve missed your posts. Welcome back. One step at a time.

  3. davidprosser says:

    I’m glad you’re back on the treadmill Pete, it gives me hope for me.It’s been nearly 4 years since I wrote anything though I have kept the blog going until that’s virtually taken over.
    I hope you sail through the editing and get down to the next novel.
    All the best.
    Hugs

  4. Welcome back Pete. I can empathise with where you have been and where you fear going. Like many others, we’ve both been there but its the getting up AGAIN to start writing that counts – surely. It can’t be a bad thing that we keep trying. One day we will succeed at doing what we think we should be doing but for now, let’s celebrate the fact that we are still putting fingers to keys and producing words.

  5. I can relate! I struggled all during 2015 with my long overdue third novel, and posted on my blog maybe every 3-4 months. I made my usual resolutions for 2016, including writing more regularly, and like you, was slow out of the starting gate. In February I took the Blogging 101 class to learn the “art” of blogging and reach more readers, and it had an unexpected bonus effect: I started working on my novel again. I’m happy to say that as of the end of today that first draft will be completed. Once I started sitting down and doing it (with a few props, like classical music through ear buds played at a very low level), I became obsessed. The words rolled out of my head and onto the keyboard (or sometimes into a notebook that I would later transcribe). It needs some clean-up, but I’m thrilled with the story line and the accomplishment!

  6. Linda Govik says:

    I can relate as well!
    Blogging has actually been a struggle ever since I published my book. The biggest mistake I made was to go from my old site to a “tailor made” WP site, which is just SO bad and meh. It has seriously hampered my excitement for blogging.
    In addition, I sort of lost myself along the way. Blogging turned into a “BUY MY BOOK, READ MY BOOK, LOOK AT ME, LOVE ME” kinda thing, instead of being a place where I (as I did in the past) mused about my writing and just had fun. I’m hoping that participating in the A-Z April blogging challenge will get me back on track. My love for writing hasn’t lessened, in any case, and I think you can agree when I say it never will.

    Glad to see you’re back as well. Feels like in the good old days, and that’s a VERY good start 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Linda. I’ve seen a few people who moved away from the old site say similar things.

      I hope the A-to-Z challenge achieves its goal and helps you back on track.

  7. I’m starting as we speak on Nano – still not decided whether to edit and complete my first ‘book’ or start anew. You are not alone!

  8. Before I got back to work on the novel (that I just finished earlier this week), I’d been dragging along with it for nearly two years. I tend to be a binge writer, and if I’m not on a binge, nothing gets done. In February I took the WP Blogging 101 course, and because it required multiple posts and other assignments every week for three weeks, it got my juices flowing, and that spilled over to the novel. Between late January and this week, I wrote the 100+ pages that brought me to the end of the novel. Lots more to do, of course – editing, revising, etc. – but it felt so good to get off my mental tush and produce something, anything! Sometimes a commitment that includes other people (like the course I took, like NaNo, like the A to Z deal) works to break through the inertia that keeps us glued to recliners watching TV.

    And maybe “real” writers (those with big names) don’t have this issue. But I bet they did early on. There’s something about a little success that energizes you.

  9. cassmob says:

    Keep at it Pete! I’ve never written a novel but having published my family history I know just how much dedication it takes and how challenging the editing process can be. Good luck! Stay strong.

  10. Kourtney Heintz says:

    That’s awesome, congrats! Great post, Pete! Kate’s a great motivator, isn’t she?

  11. I’m thrilled that my post kicked your arse into gear! It means a lot to me that you took it and applied it to your situation. Whenever a writer drops off my radar, I swear I can her the kerplunk! Glad you’re not one of them, Pete!

  12. Oh, does this sound familiar! That’s why we read other blogs. Sometimes it’s inspiration…sometimes it’s motivation. Keep at it Pete!

  13. Funny, I thought I had commented on this post, I certainly read it at the time! Really want your motivation to come back Pete! And guess what? I’ve done the vlog challenge you set me and will be posting it tomorrow 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      I’ve had that a couple of time recently. Sure I’ve liked and commented on a post and then there is nothing there!

      Roll on tomorrow!

      • I think I sometimes read posts on my phone, but I don’t usually like to comment from my phone because it’s a bit slow to type, so I think about the reply I want to write and then later I think I’ve actually written it!

  14. Pingback: The Prime Minister’s Wee Wee | Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Let me know what you think