Recommended Book: Locked In by Kerry Wilkinson

  • Locked InFormat: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 467 KB
  • Print Length: 389 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1447225643
  • Publisher: Pan (8 Nov 2012)
  • Language: English
  • Sold by: Amazon UK, Amazon US

Overview

When a body is found in a locked house, Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniel is left to not only find the killer but discover how they got in and out.

With little in the way of leads and a journalist that seems to know more about the case than she does, Jessica is already feeling the pressure – and that’s before a second body shows up in identical circumstances to the first.

How can a murderer get to victims in seemingly impossible situations and what, if anything, links the bodies?

My Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

My Review

This is the first in a series of British Crime novels featuring the Manchester based Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniel.

As a wannabee British Crime writer I know I need to read other work in this, my genre and Kerry Wilkinson is one of those self-publishing success stories. He had a day job, wrote a book and self-published it. Then wrote some more and published them. They rocketed to the top of the UK Amazon best sellers list and his books have sold into 6 figures. Impressive enough to be snapped up to a long-term 6-book publishing contract with PAN/Macmillan.

The books are easy to read and the characters engaging. This is written in third-person and predominantly from the main character’s POV. It is nice to read a book where the main character is a woman detective. Most tend to still favour male leads and, I think, he’s done a good job.

The story has enough twists and turns although I guessed whodunnit midway through the book, I enjoyed the story to the end.

For UK folk, this book is on e-book sale for on 66p at the time of writing this review. US Amazon it’s available for a $1. If you like reading crime novels I recommend you give this a go. Cheaper than some newspapers!

Happy reading.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Recommended Book: Locked In by Kerry Wilkinson

  1. billgncs says:

    I prefer English Crime stories because they tend to be less graphic than American ones, putting more into the plot and dialog than graphic violence or sex.

    don’t know if it is true in this case.

  2. Subtlekate says:

    Four out of five is very good. I’ll give it a go.

  3. Thanks for a great review Pete. It certainly sounds worth a read.

  4. Good review. Sounds like a good read all around.

  5. Good review. I enjoy a good murder mystery now and again.

    Thanks Pete, I always love to get a book recommendation!

  6. EllaDee says:

    Thanks to some great WordPress reviews I’ve been expanding my reading genres, and English Crime now looks like to be another 🙂

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    Thanks for the heads up about this book. My husband is a real fan of detective series, so I’ll point him this way.

  8. Sounds like a fun read. I like a female detective as the protagonist too. 🙂

  9. Darn it Pete! I have 368 books waiting to be read in my Kindle and now I want to know how the killer was able to leave without a trace. Grrr…

  10. Pingback: Think of the Children – Kerry Wilkinson | Cleopatra Loves Books

Let me know what you think

