June already!

May whizzed by in a blur. Can you believe it’s JUNE already? Wow!

The A to Z Challenge in April now a distant memory, I decided to take a few weeks away from the online world to recharge my batteries. I think there are times when you need to step back and have a break. I’m snowed under at the day job so REALLY needed the break πŸ™‚

It gave me an opportunity to finish the book I was reading, Bound by J. Elizabeth Hill. I really enjoyed this first book of the fantasy trilogy and will post a review later in the month. You can follow Julie over at Word Flows.

It’s a good job I’m not doing the Eclectic Reading Challenge this year as I’ve hardly read anything. I do have another book review to do and after my current read (Odd Hours: Odd Thomas #4), next on my list is The Six Train To Wisconsin by Kourtney Heintz.

Kourtney will be guest posting next Saturday about which camp she falls into when writing a novel: The Planner or Pantser debate continues. I hope you enjoy her post on the subject.

Bound_Odd_Winconsin

Over the last few weeks I have continued with the latest draft of I Can See You, my police procedural. I’m about 80% through the draft and have 15k left to work through. I WILL finish this by the end of June at the very latest. I have already turned my attention to the second book in that series. As …

Camp NaNo is nearly upon us again. I’ve decided to go crazy and try and write another first draft in a month (or so.) My planning has started and several pages of my notebook are dedicated to the main plot. We’re off the first week in July so I plan on having a BLAST at the first draft and seeing how far I can get.

My two challenges for this year were the A to Z and another pop at NaNo. One down and one on the horizon.

A few weeks ago, on a nice sunny day, we journeyed over to the east coast to see the sea. I always feel better when I see the sea. A couple of sandy shots below.

Hornsea beach

Hornsea beach

Withernsea

Withernsea

Withernsea Beach

Withernsea Beach

Despite what it looks like in the pictures, it was a little chilly, but still a very nice day.

How are you all doing with your goals for 2013?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in General, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to June already!

  1. Nothing drastic such as 50,000 words in a month – that would blow my mind. However, my first ever novel attempt, started in Nov. 2012 is now 61,000 words and going strong. By the way, I’m a ‘panster’ – looking forward to the interview.

    • Pete Denton says:

      The first time I took part in NaNo I was very daunted by having to write 50,000 words in one month. I tried to hit my word count each day and took it from there. Good luck with your writing. πŸ™‚

  2. I hope you had opportunity to revisit the beaches this weekend when we had plenty of sunshine. Just think, a whole week of heatwave now if the forecasters keep their promises.Just as the kids go back to school too…
    Don’t let the sunshine stop you ploughing on with the draft ready for NANO or with the final draft of ‘I can see you’. Best of luck with both.

  3. Nice to have you back, Pete. I’ve been rubbish at blogging throughout May – I think the A to Z did for me a bit πŸ™‚ Or maybe I just do better when I have a topic and a commitment. You can do the 15K by the end of June no probs.

    My goals for 2013 are going well. I’m a bit behind my own target for the WIP, but only a week or so. The one thing I MUST get around to is a marketing plan – I wonder why I keep putting it off?

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Joanne. I plan a blitz on the 15k this weekend. Focus!

      I can understand you avoiding your marketing plan. It sends shivers down my spine every time I even think about one. πŸ™‚

  4. Glad you’re back..missed your posts and great pics. As far as goals, I really didn’t have any this year but since I started blogging, goals seem to be popping up like bunnies in a field.

    I’m glad you’re going to camp, it was a great experience for me and resulted in actually writing a novel and I’m deep in revisions. I’m holding off till the November meet so I can work on that.

    Again, welcome home!

  5. jadereyner says:

    Hi, welcome back! Don’t blame you for taking some time out – it’s crazy mad this world. Love the piccies, great we are finally seeing some sun! My goals are OK, I am trying to get the second book written in the next two months but we’ll have to see how that goes – as for marketing… well let’s not go there!

  6. Gwen says:

    Glad you’re back, but you’re right — sometimes you really do need some time to recharge.

  7. jtailele says:

    My June goal is to get four new chapters to my WIP done. This could be challenging since I have family including grandkids coming for a full week. I am also going to work on building up my second blog since I decided to make Writing Under Fire more exclusive to writers and created Marco Realtor News for my other business. Good luck with another NANO. You must be one of us that best under pressure.

  8. noelleg44 says:

    Recharging your batteries from time to time is a necessity! The beach for me is also a place where I can open up, relax, feel the wind and waves and let the little stuff blow away. I grew up on the ocean, and being landlocked for years has made a beach trip every year a highlight. Your goals are incredibly ambitious – I’m in awe.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks. πŸ™‚

      My plans always feel a little too ambitious, but if I aim high and only achieve 60% for NaNo I’ll have still done 30k. That’s the plan πŸ™‚

  9. What is that wee castle on the beach used for?

  10. ioniamartin says:

    Where did may go? I blinked and it was already June?

  11. jmmcdowell says:

    To be honest, my writing goals for the year won’t be met. The realization that one of my WIPs wouldn’t make the grade hit me hard and released the demon of self-doubt. My writing nearly ground to a halt. I’m trying again, but progress is slow and unsteady.My new goal is to find my way out of that.

    Either the A to Z challenge or a NaNo would have exhausted me in the best of times. I really admire you doing both!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, JM. I hope you find the way out to meet your writing goals. I seem to slow down the further I go through a draft. I think part of that is my doubts as when this draft is finished it’ll be handed over to beta readers. Scary!

      I think I’m mad doing both A to Z and a NaNo, but then I remember at least one person who was doing BOTH in April. AT THE SAME TIME!

      That makes me feel better. That person was completely insane πŸ™‚

      Happy writing

  12. EllaDee says:

    I thought the same thing… it’s June! The way you keep hammering at those goals – it’s inspiring.
    I have so many books ot read, and nowhere near enough free time, I loved The Six Train To Wisconsin and have a KH guest blogger post coming up too πŸ™‚
    I also love to be beside the sea… the closest I get at the moment is harbour views from my desk, and a lunch time walk in the gardens around the harbour. I’d love some beach sand between my toes πŸ™‚

    • Pete Denton says:

      I’m jealous. I wish I had harbour views at any time of the day though I can live without sand getting everywhere πŸ™‚

      I probably wouldn’t do them without publicly declaring my intentions on here. I enjoyed NaNo last year and figure a first draft helps me if I decide to self publish as I’m further ahead with the second book in this series.

      All the people I read about hitting the marketing zone, I don’t think I’ll have time to write at the same time!

  13. 4amWriter says:

    I have Bound in my reading queue–hopefully I will be able to read it soon! My writing goals changed several times this year, mainly due to some writer’s blocks and Life events. I had hoped to have more underway by this point. Now summer is upon me, and I have to change my goals because I have both kids full-time and the freelance jobs don’t stop. It’ll be an interesting transition.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I enjoyed Bound and I’m looking forward to book 2 later in the year. I like goals that are fluid and can change as life gets in the way. Deadlines are good but I think any progress is a bonus. Happy writing when you can. πŸ™‚

  14. My main goal was really a general one of procrastinating less, and I’ve been doing quite well on that so far, submitting some bits of writing here and there, and generally getting on with things a bit more! There are a couple of things I really want to refocus on though before the year is out.

    I always feel better when I see the sea too, The nearest place where I can see the sea is about 10 minutes drive away, and yet I don’t see the sea half as often as I would like to see the sea!

    • Pete Denton says:

      I know what you mean. We live on the edge of Derbyshire and don’t get out into the fresh air as often as we probably should. We do have ambitions to live by the sea at some point. Sooner rather than later would be nice!

      Good luck with the writing. Doing rather than thinking about doing is always a result πŸ™‚

  15. Oh yay! I’m next on your to read list. πŸ™‚ I think you were smart to take a break. I’ve been blogging daily for my blog hop and it’s exhilarating but tiring too. I’m going to need to recharge in July.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I never thought that I would find sitting and tapping away on my laptop so exhausting πŸ™‚

      Yes, from Dean Koontz to Kourtney Heintz. That’s my TBR pile at the moment.

  16. And I love the sea too. It always calms me down. πŸ™‚

  17. gpcox says:

    I look forward to every Odd Thomas book, I certainly hope Koontz keeps it up.

  18. Jemima Pett says:

    Hey, Pete! I’ll be at Camp NaNo too! Good luck!

Let me know what you think

