Twitter

For the post of the A to Z Challenge, I had to post about Twitter.

Some people LOVE Twitter.

Some HATE it.

I’m in the love-it camp. I’ve been addicted to Twitter in the past and it can be a MAJOR time suck, but I’ve worked out how to be active without it compromising my writing time. I keep in touch with my writing buddies and keep an eye on breaking news. Things trend quickly when they break.

I joined back in August 2011 and after two weeks had 10 followers, two of which were of a questionable occupation. I think you know what I mean. 😉

Now, if you’re using Twitter to communicate with potential readers of your book or blog then you need followers. I wanted more than 10 so started to follow Readers, Writers and bloggers.

egg

Most people will follow you back if you seem genuine. Do you still have a picture of the egg? Change it for the picture you use on your blog or your Facebook account or change it for a picture of your book cover or your cute cat.

Make sure you complete your profile with enough detail to show you’re not a robot or a spammer and don’t put the link to your blog as a shortlink like wp.me/asdfp1PPld who would want to click that link? It could take you anywhere.

Something like the one below would be fine:

Writer and blogger, planet earth Blog: myblog.com

Some people will follow you because your tweets are great, informative or funny. Others need a nudge. To boost my followers I went to a popular writer/blogger I know and clicked on his list of 25,000 followers. I followed Readers, Writers and Bloggers who seemed interesting to me. Twitter has daily follow limits so don’t go mad.

About 75% will follow you back within a few days and once you have followers more will turn up out of the blue, like family arriving unexpectedly during the night. If they seem genuine, follow them back, interact with them. Say Hello!

Obviously, this is only if you want to boost your number quickly. The more followers you have the more interaction potential you create. I’ve found a number of new bloggers this way and bought a few self-published books from people I’ve followed on Twitter. One of my early posts was about this very subject: Twitter made me buy a Kindle.

I don’t do this all the time, but now have over 6,000 followers using this method and have met some great people. If you want to follow me, I’m at @1PeteDenton and I follow-back all Readers, Writers and Bloggers. 🙂

If you are on Twitter, how do you use it?

*

A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is my T post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be found here.

Today’s photographs are Tapestries from Warwick Castle. This was by far the most difficult letter for photographs so far. Emphasise the words SO and FAR.

Warwick Castle (22)

Warwick Castle (28)

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Twitter

  1. I don’t use Twitter to its strengths I’m afraid, but that is not because its the Twitter format but because I an introvert, I think that’s the right word. I am getting better but I need to get talking to good people more 🙂

  2. elwoodcock says:

    “so far”? So… how many pictures of xylophones and zebras do you have? 🙂

  3. bronbloxham says:

    Great advice, Pete. I struggle with Twitter… not sure what I am doing half the time, it all looks so complicated. This has eased my concerns a little, maybe I’ll try again. 🙂

  4. katemsparkes says:

    I’m an inconsistent Twitter user. Sometimes I’m on every day, sometimes I’ll go a month without thinking about it. I don’t follow many so far- I hate sorting through posts that don’t interest me, and tweeting 20 times a day on things that mean nothing to me just makes me un-follow. I guess I’m kind of a… I don’t know. Twitter hermit? Now get off of my lawn.

  5. Nanny_cool says:

    I am new to Twitter, what I really like is that you hear news quicker on there than elsewhere. I have linked my blog so new post is twittered. Like you Pete, I follow authors, publishers and most do follow back eventually. I always say hi to new followers and put my addy for blog in the message, that appears to be working well. When I get my web site sorted I will put that addy by my pic which like you said is the same as my blog. x

  6. I don’t hate Twitter but I don’t use it much either. I could do more.

  7. jadereyner says:

    I use Twitter and have found it be really useful and have far exceeded my expected follower number. I don’t always do the ‘hello’ thing to new followers and after reading this post you have me feeling very guilty about that! Will try to do better! My only criticism of it would be that by the nature of how it works, you have so many tweets at one time that it is easy to miss ones that you like and whilst I know that you can set up lists to make sure that you don’t, I wonder how often I need to ‘tweet’ a certain thing in order to make sure that it has reached at least some of my followers – assuming that little old me is not on anyone’s list? Would welcome your thoughts…

    • Pete Denton says:

      I don’t welcome every follower. I feel like I should do and some do even though they have 10,000 followers. I don’t know how the do it. You do miss things and I do take advantage of lists to keep up with my friends. You could set up some lists and see if that works. I might blog some more about it after this A to Z is out of the way.

  8. Twitter is a love/hate relationship for me. I love it so much that I hate it because I have absolutely ZERO discipline when it comes to setting boundaries. In fact, I just deleted my account a few days ago (for the second time) because I caught myself continually thinking about checking to see if there were any updates. As you mentioned, some people have no problem keeping it from creeping into their writing time (lucky you). Me…however, it’s like a drug…one that I had to sacrifice in order to get things done! 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      I’ve been through the addiction to Twitter. I used to think right I’ll write a chapter tonight then it’s 11:30 and i’ve not written a word!

      Good luck finding the balance.

  9. Great points for the time I’ll get and Twitter — if I get there. It’s good to know how to go about it the right way.

  10. M.J. Fifield says:

    I’ve been on Twitter for a while now, I guess, but I don’t think I use it to my full advantage. Mostly I seem to use it to tweet sarcastic haiku about my day job.

  11. I use twitter rather sparingly. I’m one of those people that would rather be silent than spend my time posting meaningless drabble. I only tweet when I have something significant to say or something interesting to share. 🙂

  12. elegsabiff says:

    I started using Twitter as a social thing a few years ago – you know, following interesting people and enjoying interesting conversations? That was the original idea of Twitter. New users (millions of) seem to see it as only a marketing tool now, but is it actually any use as such? I noticed one person who seems to tweet the same promo tweet every hour, 10 times a day, like a mantra. I would be amazed to learn anyone reads that tweet.

    If your tweets aren’t worth reading, no-one will bother to read them. Doing a #book #push #with #multiple #hashtags won’t sell anything to anyone, all it will get you is more new-style followers, who BTW want to sell, not buy. #Enough already.

    Joining Twitter just to immediately advertise your books is as effective as standing at the railway station at rush hour and shouting about them. While surrounded by seventy or eighty people doing the same.

    You might as well do a blog that says nothing but ‘buy my book’ and ‘read this review’ and see how many followers (and sales) result. Twitter can be amazing. Stop waving the book(s) and have some real conversations. Think of each tweet as a tiny blog.

    Once you have real friends on Twitter, and they read your books and start tweeting to each other about them, well, then you’ll sell books.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I do agree. I enjoy the conversations with people. It’s about building the relationships along the way. I like your railway station comment. Exactly how some people treat it. 🙂

  13. tyroper says:

    Thanks for this. I have an account but am not actively posting. It’s really all I can do to keep up with WP. I’ll try your technique.

  14. EllaDee says:

    I have a Twitter account but I find I’m at saturation point as far as computer based activiy goes – WordPress and the odd foray into Facebook, which is so old now… and I just don’t have that much to say in that format. Plus unlike professional writers & bloggers who publicise my private and blogger persona are separate. I don’t publicise. As you say, each to their own. I like the way you’ve oultined how you made it work for you – very useful information for those who wish to emulate you.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks. When I signed up for these things I didn’t realise how much time would go into maintaining them. I think I have the balance right at the moment. At least when I’m not doing these 26 posts in a MONTH challenges!

      When will I learn 🙂

  15. Pingback: social Networking promotion Strategy

  16. Dorie says:

    Superb blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you advise starting with
    a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thank you!

    • Pete Denton says:

      I would use WordPress and see how you get on. WordPress does allow some freedoms in layout and choosing your themes and it’s free.

      As for writing. Write. As often as you can and when you’re not writing read or blog. Simple. 🙂

  17. Terrific post on Twitter, Pete! I am so impressed 6k followers. Wow. I’m a lover of FB and a liker of Twitter. I missed the instant messaging craze of the 00s and I think that’s why Twitter was harder for me to connect with. Still enjoying my interactions there. 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks 🙂

      I’m still not on facebook, maybe one day when I feel I need to, but I do enjoy Twitter once I worked out how I wanted to use it. 🙂

  18. I wish very much that I could use Twitter more productively – being highly reclusive and reticent really doesn’t help. I’m seriously impressed by your number of followers….perhaps I just need to bite the bullet…?

    • Pete Denton says:

      I still don’t use Twitter to its full potential. I started following other writers and readers. It sounds cold, but as Twitter has restrictions on how many you can follow based on your followers, I tended to only follow though who looked like they followed back. You could bite the bullet and see what happens.

Let me know what you think

