Organisation

Welcome to the 15th post in this month’s A to Z Challenge. There is a small dot up ahead of me, which I hope is the light at the end of the tunnel. πŸ™‚

I like to pretend to be organised. I’m a planner after all, I should like order rather than chaos. Shouldn’t I?

Well, there are certain things I like neat and tidy and when I started with this whole blogging, tweeting malarkey, I realised I needed to be organised in my emails.

Recently, my email provider changed hosts. They said they would migrate the emails over and everything would be fine.

Yeah, right.

I’ve been with this company since 2007 and must say during that time I haven’t had any problems. From the 4th April things started to go wrong. When I next opened Outlook on Saturday 6th April, it informed me it was downloading email 1 of 45,371.

WHAT? 45,371 emails?

Had my blog suddenly exploded due my fabulous A to Z Challenge posts? Had everyone following Lady Gaga decided to follow me and Twitter was struggling to send me the notifications?

Wake-up, Pete. You’re dreaming again.

Sorry, anyway. No. Outlook tried to download EVERY email I’d ever received.

Every. Single. One.

I managed to stop this crazy action and only downloaded 15,000 old emails. At least I have them for reference πŸ™‚

You’re probably wondering (with good cause) what this has to do with Organisation. Well, I use RULES to organise my emails.

Yeah, RULES rock!

I have a rule set up to separate all my emails into manageable chunks. All my Twitter follower emails go into a Twitter Followers folder. All my Blog Comments into another. Need to see who has liked a post, they have another folder, so do all my Twitter replies, retweets …

A folder for all occasions.

How does this keep me organised?

Well, some of the folders I can mark all as read without checking them out. If I have 10 new Twitter followers, I can mark them all as read and head over to Twitter to check them out. I can keep track of things when I want, rather than wading through my inbox when I want to find something.

Oy, Dude. You could opt NOT to receive the emails.

I could, but I like to keep track of who did what, when. I want the emails and manage them on my terms. If I want an evening of visiting my favourite bloggers, I know who has posted recently and head over to check them out.

So, if you find your inbox swamping your efforts to keep track of everything. Give RULES a chance.

What do you do to keep organised?

*

A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is my O post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be found here.

Today’s photographs are of Oxford. We visited when we stayed in Stratford a few years ago. The only reason we went was so I would have O photographs for this challenge (Not really). It is a nice place to visit with some fantastic old buildings and as you would expect, lots of academics riding around the place, books tied together on the front of their bikes.

Didn’t see Inspector Morse though. Or Lewis for that matter.

Oxford (5)

Oxford (4)

Oxford (1)

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Organisation

  1. Julie says:

    Sounds like you have a great system! I need to work on my organizational skills. Oxford has such lovely old world charm.

  2. bronbloxham says:

    I used to think I was organised until I met you and printedportal (http://planningwithprintedportal.wordpress.com/) . Now I feel inadequate! πŸ™‚

  3. Jodie says:

    Organizing is something I need to work on. My writing files are a mess, I thought I had lost an important file the other day, but it was just in the wrong place.

  4. Oh the intentions I always have….I begin my journey, on anything really, with the intention of being organized. Well, that really doesn’t last long, now does it! πŸ˜› I think I work better in chaos? at least I keep telling myself that. Maybe one day I’ll believe it!

    Oh, and I Sooooooo miss Oxford! Beautiful pics and beautiful memories. Thanks for the reminder!
    Jai

  5. I try to keep organized, but I don’t always succeed. I make folders on my computer or email program … try to file things accordingly. Some docs make it in the proper folder, some don’t. But definitely making folders is the best way for me. Will have to consider RULES. Neat idea. And great line there at the end of the post.

  6. I’m known for being ridiculously organized. Everything has a place, files are color-coded, piles are neat and orderly. There’s even a to-do list on my desk each day. Lol! πŸ˜€

  7. EllaDee says:

    I have a loose filing system for personal emails – good enough that I can find stuff… but I have a bad habit of keeping stuff I think I’ll need but never look at again. Beyond that my filing both electronic and paper is appalling. I use Rules at work, to file emails directly into the Deleted Items folder πŸ™‚

  8. jsschley says:

    I am such a fan of rules and filters (and now, Priority Inbox in gMail.) Organization is such a freeing thing.

    I also keep a log of what I do each day–it helps me keep my time and energies organized!

  9. Elisa says:

    I should try the rules thing. That would be awesome if I could figure that out πŸ™‚ Then I would have to remember to visit the folders…hmmmmm

Let me know what you think

