Lazy weekends

Today is the twelfth day of the A to Z Challenge and the end of the second week. Two weeks already!

Feels like a lifetime.

I’m not joking. πŸ™‚

As I’m about to embark on a lazy weekend, I thought it would neatly fit my L post.

We don’t have any children so our weekends are not overtaken by our offspring heading here, there and everywhere for parties, or football practice or any other means of entertainment.

People I know who do have kids seem to have their lives planned out in meticulous detail at the weekends to make sure they can cram everything in. They are like a taxi service picking up child one from band practice before dropping child two off at the cinema to meet their friends.

We have a cat, but no amount of cajoling seems to force him into action. For him, everyday is a lazy day. Sure, we encourage him to take up modelling or get a job in the city. He pretends to sleep right through it. Making best use of his talents.

Unless we head out for a run in the countryside (run in the car, not running shoes), after my chores are complete I get to spend my time reading, writing or blogging. In between watching live sport on television, of course. πŸ™‚

I hope to write all of next week’s blog posts from MR as it’s draining the way I’ve done them last week. Hopefully I’ll find time to read some more of the book I started before the challenge and edit a couple of chapters ofΒ I Can See You.

Actually, sounds pretty hectic to me!

How do you like to spend a lazy weekend?

*

A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is myΒ LΒ post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be foundΒ here.

My pictures today are from the Lake District.

Lake District - Kendall

Lake District - Bowness or Kendall

Lake District - Ambleside

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lazy weekends

  1. YourHobby says:

    Great photographs Pete, I really must try to visit the Lakes this year…..Graham, YourHobby…..

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks. I find some of the Lake District frustrating as you can’t always see THE LAKES! You drive around and see woods and walls. When you do manage to see the water, much better πŸ™‚

  2. elegsabiff says:

    This lazy weekend will be spent trying to catch up with blogs missed during the week .. in theory I like this challenge, but it is just too much to keep up with everyone I want to follow. Nice blog and your photos are always amazing πŸ™‚

  3. I like the second picture with the wharf. I am settling in to write this weekend as well. I had the first two weeks worth of posts pretty much done but instead of writing over those two weeks I spent most time reading. Now I MUST write this weekend.

  4. Part of my weekend is semi lazy. Today was soccer practice for our son (basketball starts soon), rest of the weekend down time, I hope.

  5. EllaDee says:

    We could learn a lot from cats. I was wondering if you were writing the daily posts daily – I guessed right, and if it would change to getting a few pre-prepared – I guessed right again. So far you’ve made a heroic effort and no stinting on quality πŸ™‚
    We also have no kids but the G.O. works most Saturdays so I take care of domestic business then, but once he’s home we hang out, drink coffee & wine, stroll to the park or somewhere, watch a DVD or TV, I do a bit of pre-cooking for the week (a bit like pre-daily blogging it makes sense) – quiet & simple, as Monday looms large πŸ™‚

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks. I always strive for quality πŸ™‚

      My idea of planning was having a title for the post! I wish I’d had more than the 3 outlined at the start. When will I ever learn πŸ™‚

      Quiet and simple sounds good to me πŸ™‚

  6. I love a lazy weekend too, and I have to admit I make sure as many of them are lazy as possible! Mine tend to consist of sleeping late, spending way too much time watching youtube videos from the comfort of my bed, and only cleaning when it gets absolutely necessary.

  7. Cindy Dwyer says:

    We have kids, but they aren’t over-scheduled so that keeps the craziness down. Lazy weekends are for reading and writing, with a minimum of housework and running around.

  8. Jan says:

    I like your site and I gave you an award – how freakin’ pushy is that?!

  9. My lazy weekend involves sleeping late and lounging in bed. Watching movies on Netflix or doing a marathon of a show I love. Staying in pjs all day. And reading. πŸ™‚

  10. metan says:

    Even though we have kids we make a point of not scheduling anything on a weekend, that way we can do what we want and just all hang out together.

    The kids will be sulky teenagers soon enough and do whatever they can to avoid us, we are trying to enjoy their company as long as we can for now! πŸ˜€

  11. tyroper says:

    Lol about the cat. Lovely pictures.

  12. bronbloxham says:

    What? No running shoes?! πŸ˜‰ … ah well, I don’t get to have too many down weekends at the moment with study. In the pre-study days, I used to love a long lazy weekend that included a long walk either at the beach or in the bush, possibly a picnic and a snooze! Agreed with the comments above, there are many things a cat can teach you about chilling out and that less is more! πŸ™‚

    • Pete Denton says:

      I do like the look of our cat’s life. Snooze, bit of food and sit out on his patio. Not so much the life of the stray cats who seem to live in our garden. I don’t envy them πŸ™‚

  13. settoncrew says:

    I am a single mom to three boys and we still find time to have lazy weekends – we call them quiet, family bonding weekens. Weekends were we stay iin our pj’s all day and watch a million dvd’s too.

  14. cassmob says:

    Hope the weekend was productive if not lazy -surely you shouldn’t be taking over the cat’s job πŸ˜‰

  15. auntyamo says:

    We’ve no kids… or cats πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think

