Inspiration

Where do you find your inspiration to write?

Anything can inspire you to write. It does me at least.

My current WIP, I Can See You, was inspired by a dream. A nightmare of sorts that I had years ago. I had grand plans for the majority of the book being based around this event, but in the end one chapter was all it got.

One measly chapter.

It didn’t matter. The spark formed and it got me writing the story and over the course of writing the outline it developed. I like it when my plans change like that. They grow and it’s about the original spark.

I like to flick through a newspaper. Often, I find a one paragraph article that’s perfect for firing my brain. One paragraph that inspires a whole story.

For my other WIP, A Scream in the Woods, we were watching television. A character in whatever we were watching said some thing, I don’t remember what, and I had a clear idea for the book. It felt good.

A few words sowed the seed, which grew into the outline, which grew into the first draft. I’m itching to read it and start work on the second draft.

What inspires you to write?

*

A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is my I post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be found here.

My pictures for today are from Ironbridge. The home of the first, well, Iron bridge. The picture of my at the top of my blog was taken in front of the bridge.

IMG_0334[1]

IMG_0340[1]

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Inspiration

  1. My inspiration often tends to come from a few words, which pop into my head from who knows where and affect me emotionally in some way. I can see them as a title, or as the first few opening words, sometimes they never make the final cut even if they were what started it all off!

    Love that second photo – so pretty, the little house nestled amongst the trees by the water.

  2. Actually, those photos! Thank you for posting! I’m currently working on a book that includes the early history of the industrial period…of which that bridge is iconic. Got me thinking – imagine the sense of wonder people would have had to see that bridge, something impossible to make in stone. And the sense of wonder they must have had about just about everything back then – culminating, I suppose, in the world’s largest glasshouse, the Crystal Palace.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Sounds great. We did marvel at the impressive bridge. It did inspire thoughts of the age and how people would have reacted to it as well as the condition it’s in today.

  3. I usually start off by telling myself a story when I’m doing something boring like sitting in a meeting or on a train. By the time it’s over I usually have something I can work with.

  4. Dreams. When I first became interested in writing, it was the dreams I would record after I woke up. The colours, details, sounds,and feelings – everything that made a dream real – that I could remember and describe the best just upon waking. Later in life I started to record the trails my thoughts would take because when I wanted to write I could never come up with anything as good as those first thoughts. Now when that happens I stop what I am doing and write it down.

    Denise at Organization and Inspiration for Fellow Writers, participant of A to Z Blogging Challenge
    Denise Reashore on Facebook

    • Pete Denton says:

      I think that’s why they recommend free writing for twenty minutes first thing in the morning when you wake. A good time to get words down on to paper whilst your mind is still dreamy. I’ve never tried it, but sounds good.

  5. jadereyner says:

    The inspiration for my WIP has come loosely from life events and observations. However I do get lots of ideas from dreams, it’s just remembering to write them down that I struggle with!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Observations are the best!

      I lost so many ideas before I started using a notebook. I’ve even learnt to write in the dark. Shaking, but legible. πŸ™‚

  6. Most of the time I’ll find inspiration from a single phrase or sentence that is bouncing around in my head. My current WIP started this way when I wrote down the opening sentence: “Jason Drake’s stomach was in knots.” I knew from there I wanted to find out why this kid was so anxious or troubled, so I started building an outlining from that simple sentence.

    I tend to do the same with poems or individual scenes in my novel. When I sit down to write, I’ll often have an opening line worked out in my mind, and the poem or scene grows from there.

    I guess my mind likes to work in snippets and soundbites. πŸ™‚

  7. Sue says:

    Once I was inspired by a red lamp shade on a tv show were watching at the time. through that I designed some rooms and then the characters who lived in the rooms.

  8. I am often inspired by simply watching people in a public space. They all have stories and just wondering about them is enough to get me inspired. πŸ™‚

  9. Mart Dawson says:

    Crackin set of photos.

  10. jsschley says:

    My inspiriation for my current WIP came from a reenactment of the Greensboro lunch counter at the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. The docent, to create good discussion, probed people about why “separate but equal” was inherently a bad thing, and no one could articulate the reasoning well in this day and age–we take it for granted that separate is unequal, and no one can really explain why any longer. I won’t say more than that, because the story is still totally in planning stages, but it *really* set my wheels turning.

    Gorgeous photos!

  11. EllaDee says:

    I find bridges fascinating and the river is beautiful, I’d love to go down it in a little boat like “Three men in a boat, to say nothing of the dog”. Inspiration, or lack thereof, has been on my mind. I think if I am switched on to it, it comes from any-everywhere at anytime, not just 3am… but when I’m switched off like now, it’s elusive, and a little lonely.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Old bridges are great. To think of the massive change they would have had on the lives of the locals years ago. I hope a flood of inspiration hits you soon πŸ™‚

  12. mamabeanablog says:

    Love the pictures! I think my inspiration comes from pictures, music, and real life scenes. Thank you for sharing how you’re inspired and how the ideas grow into stories. I think I am still in that learning process of waiting for it to grow. πŸ™‚

  13. As long as I say and do stupid things, I know I’m good with blog posts. My dumb moments yield good inspiration.

  14. Music–sometimes one line of a song can set off a whole story concept. Or just a what if thought when I’m watching tv or reading. πŸ™‚ Inspiration is everywhere, it’s about slowing down and listening. πŸ™‚

    • Pete Denton says:

      I’m running out of notebook space the number of story ideas I write down. I do like it when that spark arrives and even if that story never materialises there is always a chance to include it in another story.

  15. cassmob says:

    I’m no good at writing fiction but I often wake up with my blog posts burbling in my brain. If I could capture my dreams/nightmares I’m sure I’d have some best-selling thrillers πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think

