Harrogate Crime Writing Festival

I’ve never been to any type of writing festival.

Over the last year or so, I’ve read many a blog post about all of you attending writing festivals and so I’ve decided that this is the year I’m finally going to take the plunge and attend one.

At least one.

Maybe two.

In July, we have the Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. We live an hour or so drive away from Harrogate and have decided to journey north to check it out. As I’m a wannabe crime writer, this seems the most appropriate one to attend and it’ll give me a chance to check out how others are approaching their work and pick up some tips.

2013-crime-banner-black-with-lee-960x440

Some big names are in attendance as usual. Val McDermid is the festival chair and Kate Atkinson and Lee Child amongst others will be in attendance.

Before that, Doncaster will host the Steampunk festival and as the esteemed Mr Craig Hallam is the official Man of Words (I need to ask what this means) I will swing by Doncaster, a short drive up the road, to lend him my support. And, lets face facts, see people dressed up in their Steampunk finery. πŸ™‚

As a newbie, what should I expect?

Why do you attend a writing festival?

*

A2Z-2013-BADGE

This is my H post for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. A list of all my A to Z Blogging Challenge posts are to be found here.

My pictures for today are from Castle Howard. Obviously a little license to focus on the Howard. This is where they films Brideshead Revisited.

STA60037

STA60069

STA60092

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Harrogate Crime Writing Festival

  1. Heidi Mannan says:

    I’ve never been to a writing festival either. I hope to hear what you think of it. Love the pictures, too!

    • Pete Denton says:

      The more I think about it, the more I’m looking forward to it. Thanks for your comments about the pictures, it was a REALLY cold day. We were freezing cold walking around the gardens, but determined πŸ™‚

  2. bronbloxham says:

    Go for it Pete. I’ve never been to a writers’ festival only work conferences but I think it’s a similar experience. Go with an open mind, meet as many people as you can, it can only be of benefit to you in the long run. Wow, love the photos. I can remember this from the original Brideshead Revised… kept expecting Jeremy Irons to stroll through the garden.

  3. shell flower says:

    Writing conferences are awesome and Harrogate sounds perfect for a crime writer to attend. Be ready to talk about what you write as you will talk about it a lot to folks you meet. That castle is awesome!

  4. jadereyner says:

    As a complete newbie (I think you know that by now) I’ve also never been to a Writing Festival or Conference and I was wondering about them and if it’s something I should be doing? Crime wouldn’t be appropriate for me but I was wondering where I could find out information on other events? Any ideas?
    Thank you for another great post!

  5. My approach to writing conferences is to get a list of all the workshops and panels and decide which ones are the most helpful to where I’m at with my writing. I also try to not duplicate. So only one panel on revision, one on querying, etc. If you go with a writer buddy you can plan to attend different events and then swap notes. I would say networking and connecting with other writers is a good goal. I’m naturally an introvert so I set goals like talk to 5-10 strangers and exchange business cards. πŸ™‚ What a gorgeous castle!

  6. Sue says:

    I love your photos! I’ve never been to a writing festival either. But I think we have a friend in common Vikki in Kent…

  7. You’ve really got nothing to lose by going to a writing festival. Even if it’s a bust, you’ll probably still walk away having learned something new. πŸ™‚

  8. ioniamartin says:

    Oh that looks like a lot of fun. Can’t wait to hear about it!

  9. EllaDee says:

    I’ve never been to a writers’ festival only festivals where there have been writers, and listening to them is fascinating. Crime isn’t a genre I’m into but recognise the names, particularly Val McDermid and of course Ruth Rendell, and I love Jeannette Winterson’s books. The Steampunk festival would be fun πŸ™‚

  10. Maribeth says:

    Ooh I never heard of a writing festival. I heard of conferences. I’m going right now to check if there are any in my area. Have fun!

    Maribeth

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Maribeth. I think the festival and conference are more or less the same thing. Though having never been, I could just be making that up πŸ™‚

  11. ocdreader says:

    That is going to be fun! Make sure to blog about it πŸ™‚
    Love the pictures – absolutely gorgeous.

  12. 4amWriter says:

    I try to go to a local writing conference every spring, but this year I couldn’t swing it. I think you’ll have fun at yours. Looking forward to hearing about your experience. πŸ™‚

  13. mamabeanablog says:

    As I visit blogs, I am so amazed at the photos! You’re pictures are great! I have never been to a writing festival. Please let us know how it goes and plenty of pics too!

  14. I’ve never attended a festival, but I can see their importance. Hope you have fun in July and later tell us how it went.

Let me know what you think

