Recipe: Low Fat Cherry and Sultana Scones

Ever since my gall stones episode I’ve had to watch the fat content on what I eat.

I know, this can mean boring food – other than my daily Curly Wurly 😉 – and I do miss Fish and Chips.

Anyway, I bought a low-fat cook book recently and tinkered with one of the recipes to create the following: Cherry and Sultana Low-Fat Scones.

Even though I say so myself, they are DELICIOUS and for someone (me) who needs to pay respects to the MIGHTY Gall bladder, really low-fat. In honour of Vanessa and her Sugarness blog, I thought I would share the low-fat recipe with you.

Step 1: Weigh and sieve 225g of Self-raising flour and 1 teaspoon of baking powder into a bowl. Add 25g of softened sunflower margarine. (I use a light version, which is only 38g fat per 100g) and rub together. Ah, takes me back to school and learning to rub butter into flour. I learned more at school than this one thing. Honest 😉

Step 2: Chop 60g of glacé cherries and add another 20g of sultanas. You don’t need to chop the sultanas. Life is TOO short to chop sultanas.

Chopped Cherries & Sultanas

Expertly chopped.

Step 3: A good time to put the oven on. It needs to be set to:

Electric 230C or 450F

Gas Mark 8

Step 4: Add two tablespoons of caster sugar and your chopped goods to the bowl and give them a good mix with a trusty spoon. This is no time to bake with an untrustworthy spoon.

Scones mix in a bowl

Mix all the ingredients together

Step 5: Add 150g of fat-free natural yogurt. (I’m English and despite what the WordPress spell-checker says, my spelling of yogurt is correct)

Mix the yogurt into the dry ingredients.

There is only so much you can do with a spoon. Time to get your hands into the bowl and mix the dough. When you have a loose ball, add one or two tablespoons of milk to help mix in the remaining dry ingredients from the bottom of the bowl.

I use semi-skinned because that’s what we have, but you can use skimmed if that floats your boat.

You should end up with something like this:

The dough

The dough

Step 6: The mixture will feel very sticky at this stage. Knead on a floured work-surface and I add a bit more flour until the ball is no longer sticky. Roll out to a thickness of at least an inch and use a cutter to cut out your scones. Aim to make 9, otherwise the scones will be too small and might end up chewy.

Step 7: Place them on a greased baking sheet and brush with some of the milk.

Pop them in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Keep an eye on them because they can go from anaemic dough balls to burnt rocks in the space of a few seconds. You know your oven better than I do. Honestly, I’ve never met your oven despite what it says.

Scones cooling

They’ve just come out of the oven. WAIT and let them cool.

Leave the scones to cool on a rack.

Recap on the ingredients to make 9 scones:

225g Self-Raising Flour

60g Glacé Cherries

20g Sultanas

25g softened light as you can buy sunflower margarine

2 tablespoons of Semi-Skimmed Milk

2 tablespoons of Caster Sugar

1 teaspoon of Baking Powder

Fat content details vary depending on which margarine and milk you use, but if you use what I said then they are around 2.5g fat per 100g.

Plate of scones

Plate full of sconage. So Low Fat you can eat FIVE at a time 🙂

Serve with low-fat spread and/or jam and enjoy!

You read right.

No three-inch thick slab of cream. This is a LOW-FAT recipe for Cherry and Sultana Scones.

Happy baking!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in General, Recipe, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Recipe: Low Fat Cherry and Sultana Scones

  1. Ha, excellent, I’ve taught you well! 😉 So you inspired me to do NaNo, and I inspired you to post recipes!

  2. Sounds yummie! I’m off to look up what a sultana is. 😉

  3. Mart Dawson says:

    Epic! Now I’m seriously hungry. Thanks fir the post.

  4. Justine says:

    I don’t know cooking. But the details here about LOW FAT ingredients must be of great use to many! Thanks!

  5. ioniamartin says:

    I’m trying to get over my shock that there is a man with a recipe on his blog. Seriously though, those sound really good.

  6. That looks delicious, thanks for posting it! Now I’m hungry!

  7. Nanny_cool says:

    They look really nice, well done x

  8. Your scones look delicious, Pete!!

  9. EllaDee says:

    Yum! I’ll leave out the eeeeeeewww glace cherries and make my self a delicious batch of scones 🙂

  10. realpeal says:

    The scones look downright delicious! I will direct one of my daughters to your recipe (I do NOT cook) as they are always looking for new and delicious ways to avoid too much fat in our diets (a definite must as we all are beginning to waddle when we walk). Oh, and I spell “yogurt” the same way you do and I’m American.:D

    • Pete Denton says:

      They are delicious 🙂 I hope your daughter enjoys them.

      I wonder why the spell checker suggested another spelling? I presumed it was how you spell it.

  11. mmmm sounds like just the kind of thing I could do on this cold easter weekend…….being diabetic I am always looking for good low fat low sugar recipes

  12. 4amWriter says:

    Mm-mmm. Are you going to be turning into a food blog now? A combo of writing and food? I love scones, and I never met a sultana before today.

  13. Ana says:

    These look delicious! I must try out the recipe. 🙂

  14. Kate says:

    I just made these for my fiance who has gallstones and they’re lovely! Thank you so much for the recipe 😀

Let me know what you think

