Camp NaNo, starting soon

No, I’m not taking part in the A to Z Blogging Challenge AND Camp NaNo in the same month.

I’m MAD, but not stupid. No, I’m not stupid.

My first experience of NaNoWriMo in any of its forms happened in the August edition of Camp NaNo last year. I was a Happy Camper when I hit the 50k mark of A Scream In The Woods and even happier when I maintained the NaNo pace to finish the first draft in September.

For those of you wondering what the HELL NaNo is all about or wondering why I’m posting about Nano Technology on a writing blog, the National Novel Writing Month, challenges you to write 50,000 words in one calendar month.

That’s not possible, I hear you cry.

Many, many, many people take part every year and a good percentage of them complete the challenge. It’s a tough, but rewarding experience.

If you treat the first draft as a very rough, purge of story on to page or screen, then this is a fabulous challenge to hit the ground running with any new writing project.

Last year, I surprised myself at how free my writing became further into the challenge. Pure writing with NO editing. There’s no time to delay writing with this one.

The main NaNoWriMo event takes place each November. This year, the two Camp NaNo challenges take place in April and July. I’m planning on taking part in JULY as I want to write the sequel to my crime novel I Can See You.

What better motivation is there to write a first draft?

If you like a challenge and want to kick-start writing a new novel then why not take part. It could be the best thing you do for your writing. Even if you only manage to hit 20-30,000 words it’s a great start.

Click the Participant picture below or the link here: http://campnanowrimo.org/ to sign up. It starts TWO WEEKS today, so don’t delay.

If you’re a planner you need these 14 days to outline your project. If you’re a pantser then … well, you just need a title and you’re good to go. I’ll give you a hand: Ninja Chipmunks fight dinosaurs. There, don’t say I never give you anything. 🙂

Are any of you taking part this year?

2013-Participant-Campfire-Circle-Badge

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Camp NaNo, starting soon

  1. Julie says:

    I’m still on the fence about participating in April. It really depends on whether my outline is finished and ready when we get to April 1st. Right now it’s plausible, but unlikely.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I like the idea of July because it has the extra day in it!

      April is too soon for me. Still be doing the final few chapters of my latest draft. My brain can’t cope with editing one project and starting a new one at the same time. It’d explode 🙂

      • Julie says:

        Lol, fair enough. I’m still editing one novella, totally different world though. But I wouldn’t start writing a novel while still editing something else. I need to focus when I’m writing, to wrap myself up in it completely. Still, I have an outside chance of being ready. I’m crazy like that. Besides, it’s almost April and I haven’t written a novel. I can’t let that stand. 😉

  2. karengadient says:

    Alas, I can’t do it in April and July is dubious too, but I still have hope July could happen.

  3. Clanmother says:

    I don’t know much about this type of project so I will follow closely and then take the leap…you really are convincing.

  4. Mart Dawson says:

    The whole things sounds mad. Like you say its a challenge and would force out a draft of the follow up. Like the thinking!

  5. robincoyle says:

    There is NO WAY I could to this challenge, but good luck to you, you mad man.

  6. EllaDee says:

    Sounds great, and you will be so planned and prepared who knows what you will achieve this year 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Finishing something would be nice 😉

      At least doing this in July, I should have finished the draft of current WIP and have that out with my beta readers. Better to stay busy 🙂

  7. Subtlekate says:

    I’m waiting for November – IE Chicken to do two in one year.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I know what you mean. We’re off work the first week in July so I’m hoping for a mega start to the 50k. And, I always look for the one with the extra day! 31 days better than 30 🙂

  8. ReGi McClain says:

    Woohoo! Go you! I’ll be jumping in in November. 🙂

  9. Mouse says:

    I’ve been thinking about it. My story is really ready to go – I just have to jump in and start writing! But I’m not sure. Like you, I’d also thought about doing that A to Z blogging challenge. Decisions, decisions…. =)

  10. Already signed up but haven’t picked up my camper badge yet, lol. I’m drafting the 1st of a series in April. I love using the NaNo’s to get books drafted. The time in between for revising. Hoo! A plan!

  11. 4amWriter says:

    I briefly toyed with participating in this, but as we get closer and closer I’m getting ‘chickener and chickener’ 😉

  12. Pingback: I have my cabin-mates for Camp NaNoWriMo | thelissachronicles

  13. jmmcdowell says:

    I think I really need to finish (as in publication-ready finish) one of my novels before I jump into another. So I think I’ll be missing the camps and probably the big event in November. But another year? That’s a possibility….

    • Pete Denton says:

      I wasn’t planning on doing any of them this year as I need to finish something for a change. Like you say publication finish. But I thought if I end up going the self-pub route, I could do with finishing at least one more novel to published this year so the pair can support each other. Mad idea but I’m running with it at the moment 🙂

  14. Sherry Ellis says:

    That’s a tough challenge. Good luck with it!

  15. Hope you have just as productive a round of NaNo as you did before! Sounds like it really helps get the juices flowing. 🙂

  16. I’m hoping to be able to do Camp NaNo in July too. I’ve done the November one for years, and that’s where most of my novels are born, kicking and screaming. 🙂

  17. I had not realized that there was a camp. November is a bad month for me but now I know I have other options. I must do more research. Thanks for the info.

Let me know what you think

