Recommended Book: Odd Interlude by Dean Koontz

  • Book cover for Odd ThomasFormat: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 505 KB
  • Print Length: 289 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007508646
  • Publisher: Harper (1 Jan 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon UK, Amazon US
  • Language: English
  • Official Site: Dean Koontz

Overview

(courtesy of Goodreads)

THERE’S ROOM AT THE INN. BUT YOU MIGHT NOT GET OUT.
Nestled on a lonely stretch along the Pacific coast, quaint roadside outpost Harmony Corner offers everything a weary traveler needs–a cozy diner, a handy service station, a cluster of cottages . . . and the Harmony family homestead presiding over it all. But when Odd Thomas and company stop to spend the night, they discover that there’s more to this secluded haven than meets the eye–and that between life and death, there is something more frightening than either.

My Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

My Review

When I posted recently about whether the One-off or part of a series inspired you to read, I had this series firmly in mind when writing that post. At the moment, I’m finding it really hard NOT to immediately download the next book in the series. That says a lot about what I think of this series and in particular, this character.

Odd Thomas has abilities. Or a huge curse, depending on how you look at it. He can see and sense the spirits of the dead as they walk amongst us. The Odd Interlude started out as an exclusive e-book, released in three parts that made up a novella. As I’m late to this series, I managed to download them all as one edition. I don’t think I would have been able to WAIT between releases.

This is another cracking adventure for Odd Thomas.

There is part of the novella not written from Odd’s POV, which made a refreshing change. An insight into other characters minds is a welcome diversion. For me, Odd is so well written I don’t mind the whole story being from his perspective, but this diversion helped the story.

This is classed as a novella though at 289 pages it’s longer than several novels I’ve read in the last 12 months. Not sure why it’s classed as a novella at so many pages, but a worthy read.

WARNING: There are 7 books in this series at the moment. I’d read Odd Thomas, Forever Odd and Brother Odd as books 1-3. I should have checked more closely, but this interlude follows book 4.

I’d not checked the timeline and read it before Odd Hours. Part of the ending to book 4 is revealed at the start of this book, so the game is given a way a little. Won’t stop me from reading book 4, but I wish I’d paid attention 🙂

I look forward to the next adventure soon. In fact, I’m about to buy books 4 and 5. I can’t help myself.

Thanks for reading.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recommended Book: Odd Interlude by Dean Koontz

  1. EllaDee says:

    Great review, which once again I enjoyed despite not being a genre I read much of, but never say never. I agree it’s great to find an author who’s books you just want to consume slowly, quickly and again & again. Dianne Gray comes to mind of prolific WP authors, and I’ve just discovered James Lee Burke from a WP recommendation – a genre I’ve never been into before but am enjoying 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thank you.

      I’ve not read either of the authors you mention. James Lee Burke has loads of books out and I’ve downloaded a sample (to add to about 50 samples 🙂 but you never know!)

      Finding a new author and reading a great book that is the first of ten is great. Plenty to go at.

  2. I’m in two minds about the Odd Thomas books. Book 1, and probably 2 or 3 were brilliant IMHO, startling and original with a great cast of characters. But by book 4 I felt that Dean Koontz was kind of losing his way a bit. It felt as if it was a bit rushed and could’ve done with another edit. I’m not sure if he’s got some grand over-arching plot going on or if he’s just feeling his way as he goes. But, based on this review I’ll give book 5 a go. And check Goodreads as I didn’t know there were lots more Odd books out there!

    • Pete Denton says:

      I’ve not read book 4 yet, so I might revise my opinion. I stopped reading his books previously because I thought the work seemed rushed.

      There are 5 full books out, the interlude and book 6 is on its way at the end of March. He’s also done some graphic novels, but I’m not sure that I’m bothered about them.

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Great review. I don’t usually read this genre, but I am looking to diversify my reading list. I’ll add at least the first book of the series to my list, and see how it goes. 🙂

  4. This is one of those series I am dying to try. Thanks for reminding me to get through my work so I can read more again. 🙂 Great review Pete!

  5. Pingback: Playing Favorites- My Lists | Big Bowl Of Thought Soup

Let me know what you think

