Let it stop

Okay snow. Had enough now πŸ™‚

Yesterday, the signs were good. The melt began and every time I glanced out of the window, I saw more and more tarmac and garden.

This morning, when I peeked out of the window we had a LOT more snow. Five inches, or about 12cm depending on your preference, fell overnight. We weren’t expecting much more this morning. Talk about shock!

I had to go shopping. Well, I did if we wanted to EAT anything. So, that involved digging the car out. Once off our estate, the roads were fine though there were more staff in the Morrisons supermarket than there were customers. πŸ™‚

I Can See You redraft continues. I’ve finished Chapter 5 and every 5 chapters I think it’s time for the 3x Ps. Pause, Print and Polish.

When I started this third draft the doubts crept into my mind. I wondered whether I would ever be happy with this story. Doubts galore seem to be the topic of a number of blog posts on other sites at the moment.

I suppose it’s the nature of our work that we question ourselves. After finishing the polish on the first chapter today, I happy with how it reads. I read it out loud and removed large portions of narrative that added little to the flow the story.

I hope your writing is flowing as fast as the snow fell in my part of the world this morning.

Thanks for reading.

I’ll leave you with some images of the day from my neck of the woods.

Our Car - Hugo the Aygo!

Our Car – Hugo the Aygo!

These are our gates!

These are our gates!

My beloved magnolia. It better survive this cold spell or I will NOT be happy.

My beloved magnolia. It better survive this cold spell or I will NOT be happy.

Camellia in snow

Our Camellia in snow

Magnolia 2

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in General, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Let it stop

  1. EllaDee says:

    Excellent snapshot (& pics) of your part of the world… ah, weather it just doesn’t enough is enough πŸ™‚ On the upside, good writing weather.

  2. Sneaky forecasters lied to us too. When I got up this morning there it was AGAIN and stayed snowing most of the day. We had to go out for an appointment to have the back of my eyes photographed- Yes, I’m that vain. Got there on time at 10.30 as staff are ringing to tell everyone to come NOW or cancel. Had the stinging drops put in my eyes to blind me then 15 minutes later go for the photo.15 more minutes and she’s still trying. a Β£9000 camera has condensation on the inside lens !! We left without it being done and had to slip slide our way home down a very steep hill to get home.Next time I’m only going in sunshine.
    Well done on the redraft Pete. Hang onto the deleted narrative for the next round in case you need some back. I’m glad it’s going well for you.
    Love the pics.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, David. Ouch about the eyes. Even a 9 grand camera has issues. I agree about the sunshine next time though they’ll probably get the forecast wrong then as well.

  3. rtd14 says:

    I am glad we do not have snow like that right now. Do not get me wrong. I enjoy playing in the snow.You would think with all of it outside your house you would have plenty of time to write. I know how it is when food is needed at the house.

    Writers do question themselves during redraft. I question myself all the time. I’m editing two books. I’ve edited Sons of the Edisto since I began writing it 6 1/2 years ago. I question the summaries I write for query letters. I suppose that is why we writers also have a gut, and sometimes we just need to go with it.

  4. Around lunch time I looked out the window and was somewhat alarmed to discover I could not see the apartment building across the road. The world was quite literally a white haze. The snow flurries died down after an hour or so, but what an hour it was!

  5. Your pictures remind me that snow is really beautiful, Pete–when you don’t have to trudge through it!!

  6. 4amWriter says:

    Beauteous snow! πŸ™‚ I love it best when it’s freshly fallen and undisturbed. I hate how the snow looks after it gets all churned up by the plows and sand/salt trucks.

    I like your 3 Ps – Pause, Print and Polish. Very cute. πŸ˜‰

  7. I haven’t got tired of the snow yet! I want more to fall here in Kent please! Our village has a good corner shop which is just a few minutes walk from me, so as long as the delivery lorry can make it there, I can manage perfectly well without needing to get the car out.

  8. Frosty (or Frostina- my husband claims snowmen are actually female) is still peering in through our lounge window, a week after he was built. I’m getting a little tired of the snow now too. Today I had to push my double buggy up the icy hill to my house, with a flat tire and a toddler screaming his lungs out because he wanted a chocolate cake.

    Glad the writing’s going well. I haven’t written much since completing my novel at the beginning of the year but I have been keeping up with my weather journal. We were advised to keep one at a writing workshop I attended last year, so we’d have something to refer to when writing about a story set in a different season to the one you’re actually living in.

  9. Those are beautiul pictures, though! The snow is pretty, even if it’s a pain to deal with. I agree that we all cycle through our doubts.Keep the pen to the page! It’ll work itself through.

  10. Wow that’s a lot of snow to dig out from. We’ve had a lighter winter here. But still when we get 6-8 inches and have to wait weeks to see the ground again–it’s tough. Hope the magnolia survives and flourishes again!

  11. susannah says:

    At least your snowfall was pretty! In the centre of London, it seemed to fall straight into instant brown slush. Erk!

Let me know what you think

