Let it snow

We’ve had a deluge of snow. I’d take a picture, but it’s night time now and snow doesn’t look as impressive in the dark. The bright white snow looks yellow in pictures at night, under the street lights. And everyone should steer clear of yellow snow. ๐Ÿ˜‰

In my day job, I have dealings with people around the UK. Yesterday, I was talking with people in Wales and further north in Newcastle and Sunderland. Everywhere else seemed to have had more snow than we’ve had so we should be thankful of that.

You see, Sheffield seems to grind to a halt when it snows. Seriously, we can have just a couple of inches of snow and everything stops working. Maybe it’s because – like Rome – we are a city of hills. Probably where the similarities with Rome end. The traffic has difficulty in climbing the hills on slippery roads, people all try to get home at the same time and chaos is the usual order of the day.

I think we are in the in-between phase of dealing with snow. We don’t have enough of it for long enough to really know how to handle living in snow. I know many of you around the world in snowier climes would just slap the chains on your tyres and be off. You’ll think that we’re just playing at it. And, I think you might be right.

Anyway, it has enabled us to have a very nice, lazy day at home. Our road is covered in snow and whilst I’m sure the main roads have been gritted and are perfectly fine to drive on, I’m always wary of the car skidding into the gates and damaging the car. A few too many near misses to risk it for nothing. No, not worth the trip out.

A lazy day means blogging and writing for me. I’ve read more different blogs today than I have all year combined. (I’m aware that we’re only 19 days into the year, but still) ๐Ÿ™‚

And for the latest draft of I Can See You, I’ve finished chapter 4 and I’m halfway through Chapter 5. Over 14k words now completed. ย I’m happy to stay in the warmth and potter about. Everything else can wait.

Do you like snow? Do you grab the snowboard, bin lid or whatever and rush to the nearest park to go sledging?

Cheating I know, but here is a photograph of our snow-covered road from last time we had heavy snow. All this mention of snow I feltย obligedย to give you a visual form of reference. And, when you’ve seen one snow-covered road. You’ve seen them all.

Not current snow.

Not current snow.

So I say “Let is Snow.” More time for writing.

Thanks for reading and if you have snow, remember. Be careful out there.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in General, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Let it snow

  1. Thanks for the warning Captain.
    Yes the snow even hit North Wales and is on the coast where of course we never have snow.So far I haven’t let it inconvenience me but only because the coast road is clear. Otherwise staying in and keeping warm seemed a wonderful idea. Heinz tomato soup and fresh bread.Hmm, not sure I suit an orange moustache though.
    Congratulations on the work done so far on the new book. I wonder what that feels like.
    Take care, keep warm.

  2. I LOVE the snow. As much as I hate the cold, I love the snow. Any landscape, however grim it might usually look, is transformed into a beautiful and magical land after a snowfall. I don’t like driving in it, but then who does right? Your road looks like a nice road. I’ve only been to that general area of the country once and that was with a friend whose mother lives in Glossop (that is your general area isn’t it? I’m rubbish at geography!), and we drove along the Snake pass is it called? I’m very southern and haven’t ventured north very much I’m afraid!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Glossop is close enough. The snake pass seems often closed in the middle of summer due to snow. Very high up. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Okay, maybe not. I do agree about snow levelling everything. The worst patch of land is transformed with a blanket of the white stuff.

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    The area around DC is full of people. Many from all over the US and all corners of the world. Many who never dealt with snow before they came here. Staying off the roads after snow is a wise move around here. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. EllaDee says:

    To me, snow makes everything look like a fairytale. I guess though unless it’s convenient to stay indoors, it’s not a practical fairytale, but ‘stay in the warmth & potter around’ sounds good to me… I’m not a hot weather person. I’ve spent more than half my life working in aicron 5 days & week, and extreme heat kills me. Sydney had another extreme heat day – 48 deg C on Friday but I missed most of it as I was the office 7.30am- 6pm (by ‘necessity’ not choice). Our train sytem is similar to Sheffield. As soon as the weather gets a bit too warm, the rail network has a spaz. On Friday, the 15 minute trip home took 45 mins, and I heard people saying they’d been stuck in non-aircon trains in the heat earlier in the day. Crazy that we can’t cope with our native weather conditions.

    • Pete Denton says:

      O. M. G.

      I’m melting at the thought of 48 degrees. I’m glad to hear you were aircon universe otherwise ouch. I found 37 degrees unbearable a few years ago. Not sure I could cope with the extra 11 degrees ๐Ÿ™‚

      We do seem to be having more extremes of weather everywhere. I think the trip one way trip to Mars is sounding more appealing every day.

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Well, if you’ve been to my blog lately you’ll know that I have snow. Lots. of. snow. ๐Ÿ™‚ For the most part I enjoy snow because the kids enjoy it. I like sledding and ice skating, I even don’t mind shoveling it (too much), but I don’t like driving in it. One of the benefits to living in an area accustomed to getting pounded by snow is that the city and state are well prepared. We have sand and salt trucks, plows galore, so we aren’t immobilized for too long. I’d actually hate to live in a place that didn’t know how to handle a couple of inches of snow. That would be really annoying.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I do like the snowy pictures on your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is really annoying at times. Snow does look good. I think if we had lot more snow we might be better at dealing with it. The roads are fine now, apart from the one we live on. More snow forecast all week so we’ll see what happens.

  6. Pat says:

    I think everywhere in England grinds to a halt when it snows. I’m in Suffolk and even the bus route here hasn’t been cleared.
    But I was in Kent last week, drove back on Saturday in the window in the weather for us down south, which was just as well, as a bucket load arrived all along our route yesterday, Sunday. Today everywhere is under about six inches.
    Not as pretty as the hoar frost which we left behind on Wednesday. I should have taken pictures then but we were in a hurry to leave before we got snowed in at this end!
    And I hate snow. Best place for it: a Christmas card.

  7. Lucky! We’ve only had the kind that makes the road slick so far here this year. I love snow, and like to go sledding when there’s enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Tina. I hope your snow dreams come true and you get enough to enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pareech says:

      If you love snow, come to Montreal, we have more than enough to spare. Of course most of our snow is now big blocks of ice, because the temperature is hovering around -40c with the windchill (-27c without). YIKES!!!!

      • Pete Denton says:

        Yikes indeed! I can’t cope with really warm weather. I think extreme cold might not agree with me either. I do fancy a trip to Montreal at some stage though. Thanks for commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I used to live in San Diego. Every time it rained it was a calamity. Growing up in New England, rain was common and easy to navigate for me. Still I had to stay off the roads because the other drivers were so unaccustomed to it, there were constant accidents on the highways and roads. Luckily it only rained a dozen days or so each year.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Now rain we are used to as it rains here more often than not. It seems that way at least. Strange how weather that some people are used to causes so many problems to others. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Snow……..No…….No snow……….lol

    • Pete Denton says:

      It’s started snowing again an hour ago. Gulp!

      At least we’re not having the three foot of snow the East Coast of America is getting. Ours is more a light dusting. Hopefully. ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me know what you think

