Recommended book: Can’t Live Without by Joanne Phillips

  • Cover for Can't Live WithoutFormat: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 407 KB
  • Print Length: 215 pages
  • Publisher: Mirrorball Books (15 May 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon UK, Amazon US
  • Language: English

Overview

How does it feel to lose everything you own?

Stella Hill is proud of the home she’s created for herself and her daughter. She’s worked hard to buy the very best of everything … But when she wakes one morning to find her kitchen on fire, Stella knows her life will never be the same again.

At least she has Paul to lean on: Paul Smart, owner of Smart Homes, confirmed bachelor and unknowing recipient of a schoolgirl crush Stella never quite got over … When the charismatic John Dean turns up after sixteen years, Stella is determined not to fall for him again. Because now her heart belongs elsewhere. Or does it?

With a boss she’s half in love with, a teenage daughter about to go seriously off the rails, a spendaholic mother, and a house to rebuild, Stella’s problems are only just beginning.

Can Stella put her life – and her home – back together again? And will she ever realise just what it is she really can’t live without?

My Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

My Review

I read this book as part of the 2012 Eclectic Reading challenge and I am very glad that I did. I found the writing style very easy to read and both the characters and the story-line are engaging from the first page.

Stella is a fabulous character and the interaction with her boss and work colleagues, to the home life problems she has with her parents, brother, daughter and lodger made a cracking story to read. This book is in the romance category and I wouldn’t have EVER gone anywhere near this genre had it not been for this challenge.

I’m glad I read this book and it removed a snobbish element to my reading where I thought it had to conform to certain stereotypes to enable me to enjoy it. I was wrong.

After you’ve read this book you will also ensure you purchase something very important: House Insurance!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recommended book: Can’t Live Without by Joanne Phillips

  1. Great review Pete. Confirms that I was wrong to write off this genre as a never read since one I read last year surprised me too. As long as we’re not becoming mawkish in old age.

  2. LOL. Let’s hear it for the eclectic book challenge. 🙂 Great review Pete.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I would have missed The Hunger Games, returning to Dean Koontz and all sorts. Changed my reading, forever 🙂

      • I tried to branch out on my reading based on recommendations from Margie Lawson’s workshops. She has a list of well written books to read across all genres. Gave me a taste of many things I never would have tried on my own. 🙂

  3. I’m off to purchase this at Amazon now. Romance isn’t usually my thing either, however I will make an exception here.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Great review! I don’t read romance because I generally don’t like the writing style. But I told myself to change my reading list this year, so I’ll throw this one in the mix. 🙂

Let me know what you think

