One year on

Last month I completed my first full year of Twittering and blogging.

Celebration time!

English: Bratislava; New Year 2005; FireWorks

English: Bratislava; New Year 2005; FireWorks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My writing group are to blame as they suggested I started a blog and joined twitter and facebook and any other social networking site I could think to join. Last September, I took the plunge and signed up to Twitter and WordPress. I thought I would get most out of those two and I am so glad I did. I still haven’t set up a facebook account. One day, maybe. Not yet.

Twitter

This was the first account created and I’ve had a blast. Most of it’s still strange and even a year on I’m not sure what I’m doing, but I seem to get by okay and I have met a number of totally awesome dudes and dudettes. 🙂

One of my early posts was that Twitter made me buy a Kindle. It was true. All the people I met on Twitter had books that sounded great and I needed an e-reader to read them. I might never have bought a Kindle had it not been for Twitter.

I did find it difficult to keep track of people’s tweets as my follower/following numbers increased. Thank heavens for the lists. Where would I be without lists to keep track on my favourite bloggers. 🙂

Now, I use Twitter to keep up with breaking news. If something big happens then it’s going to trend on Twitter. I’ve found a few things out thanks to seeing what was trending.

WordPress

The second account created and by far the most important one. I love blogging.

There. I said it.

I’ve never really kept a diary and didn’t think I would take to blogging. At first, I did not have a CLUE what I was doing, still probably don’t do things properly. I’ve met loads of really interesting people and definitely believe I’m a better and more informed writer as a result.

Through blogging, I’ve been encouraged to take part in NaNoWriMo (via the August Camp NaNo competition) and entered the Eclectic Reading Challenge, which has widened my reading BEYOND measure to my previous material. Horror, Sci-fi, Fantasy are all now on the agenda and I’m loving it!

In the 12 months (or so) I’ve made 80+ posts and including my own responses there have been over 1,500 comments and 8,000 hits. Wow! Thank you very much.

*

So, thank you again to my writing group for suggesting I stepped into the on-line world. And, thank you to all of you for reading, commenting and encouraging.

Here’s to the next 12 months.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to One year on

  1. Happy Anniversary.I remember you blogging about a kindle.

  2. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary, Pete!!

  3. Congratulations! I think all of us that have fully embraced the blogging experienced never imagined how much we would get out of it, and how much we would come to regard other bloggers as friends!

  4. Congrats! And good job. Here is to another year of writing and blogging!

  5. EllaDee says:

    Congratulations on your first blogging birthday. I’ve enjoyed a good part of the journey with you, and am looking forward to another year, and more for both of us. A year in the blogging community is indeed worth celebrating.

  6. Congrats on your year of postings!!
    Figuring out how to use Twitter correctly is on my To Do list.

  7. Congrats on your anniversary with twitter and wordpress! It’s awesome that you found a writing group that’s so supportive! 🙂

  8. 4amWriter says:

    Congrats! That’s awesome. I’m on Twitter, and I read all over the place how much people really like it. I haven’t been able to devote enough time to it, so I don’t benefit as much as I probably could. I agree that blogging is the number one mode of social media. I secretly love blogging, too. Shhh.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks. My Twitter use has evolved dramatically over the last 12 months. I do find it useful to keep in touch with people and find out what’s going on in the world.

      And, about loving blogging. I won’t tell anyone. 😉

  9. T. Marie says:

    Congrats Pete! You may just inspire me to take the plunge and finally sign up for a twitter account!
    Best wishes, T

Let me know what you think

