First Draft complete!

I’ve written a book!

First Draft complete

Actual shot of my printed first draft. Story is on the dark (ish) side. Photography even darker!

The first draft of A Scream in the Woods is complete. I only started it on the first of August, so in 52 days I’ve managed to write a 74k first draft. I cannot believe that I’ve actually done it. Thank you Camp NaNo for giving me the incentive to write another novel. πŸ™‚

I wrote three novels back in the early nineties and then stopped writing. For years I didn’t write anything, fiction related at least. At the back of my mind I’ve always been dreaming up new stories, I am a piscean after all, but nothing flowed onto page.

Then I started writing my crime novel in 2005/6. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it again. That I still had enough focus to plan and write another novel. In fact, now that I’ve finished A Scream in the Woods, I’m going to tackle the third draft of my crime novel. I will spend the next week setting everything in place in Scrivener so I’m ready to roll.

During this year I’ve set myself some challenges and one of those was to take part in one of the NaNoWriMo competitions. Again to prove to myself that I have it in me. The chance to work on more than one story at the same time also appealed. Nothing better to distract myself than another story. And, it keeps the old grey cells working.

So, A Scream in the Woods is backed-upΒ in forty different locations (I jest. Saved in about seven drives and backups) and printed and pushed into a drawer for a while to let the story ferment in my head. Notebook’s at the ready for any changes, ideas and research.

I NEVER thought I would be able to write a draft in such a short period of time. If you want to kick-start a new writing project, I recommend competing in a NaNoWriMo competition. Go on. What are you waiting for?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, E-Book, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to First Draft complete!

  1. Congratulations Pete. As soon as it’s done I want to feature it on a Pinterest Board for you.

  2. Great news. Aged cheese is the best, why not novels and poetry books. Congratulations with meeting goals. Look forward to The Scream.

    See my friend’s Scream art…
    http://toni-hooper.artistwebsites.com

  3. CONGRATS, PETE!!! So exciting!

  4. Julie says:

    Oh, excellent! Congrats! I’d been starting to wonder if the manuscript ate you. πŸ™‚

  5. robincoyle says:

    That is AWESOME! I know how great it feels. You can now check “write another book” off your to-do list.

  6. Congrats! I hope to follow in your footsteps very soon.

  7. howmyspiritsings says:

    I’m right there with you. I’ll be participating in NaNoWriMo in November to work on my third book. This writing thing is certainly addictive!

  8. katkasia says:

    Hey, congratulations! That’s a huge achievement, especially in so short a time. Looking forward to reading it. πŸ™‚

  9. EllaDee says:

    Congratulations. I hope you had a little celebration πŸ™‚

  10. greekgirl777 says:

    Congrats!!! Bettye Harwell referred me to your site. Aged art is fine art.

  11. That’s really great, especially to do it so quickly outside of the NaNo support zone!

    I am doing NaNo this year, I’ve been threatening to for a while haven’t I. Even though obviously I’ve heard many people people talking about it (or should that be – read many people writing about it?), it’s the things you have said about it that has mostly persuaded me to do it. Hope I can manage it, it’s quite a lot to fit in around my job and the kids and everything, but others who have as much on as me have managed it, so I can too…right?!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Vanessa. If I didn’t keep up the intensity it would have dragged on into next year knowing me.

      Happy to have persuaded you to do NaNo. I’m amazed at some of the things people do and still find the time to write. By comparison, I hardly do anything and I did have a couple of weeks off for the Olympics.

      If it all goes pear-shaped you can shake your virtual fist at me πŸ˜‰

  12. Congrats! If I have two working hands by November, I will be doing NaNoWriMo!

  13. 4amWriter says:

    Congrats on an amazing accomplishment. You are smart to put it away to breathe. I didn’t do that with my novel, and I made things worse. A. Lot. Worse. Ah well, the things we learn. Anyway, I’m hoping I can do NaNo in November, if I can get all my ducks in a row.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thank you. It does feel quite a good achievement. A couple of months gathering dust and then the next draft. Good luck lining up your ducks and then with NaNo πŸ™‚

  14. greekgirl777 says:

    I’m curious for sure.

  15. Well done Pete. If you want to run any procedural questions through me when you come to revise, feel free (for free).

  16. Michele says:

    Congrats! I am going to give that a try some time soon.

  17. Ava Alexus says:

    That is a superb effort! Congratulations πŸ™‚

  18. rtd14 says:

    Congrats! That is great! I have had many drafts of my book while I wrote it. I have finished the writing, and I am currently editing all the way through. It is a big deal to say you have completed your first draft. I give you two big thumbs up!

  19. Congrats Pete! Completing a manuscript is a HUGE accomplishment. And to do it in such a short amount of time is AMAZING. It’s good to let it breathe a bit before revisions. Glad you have other projects in your head to work on!

  20. Pingback: Yet more drafting « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

