A Scream In The Woods

Like the Olympics, Camp NaNo seems like a lifetime ago already.

I decided against doing an end of month update for August as I’d done so many progress reports during my camping experience. At the end of August I’d written 52k words towards my WIP and I was completely knackered.

The end of the month arrived and the writing stopped.

Immediately following the end of NaNo I endured another manic week at work and it sapped all my energy. I didn’t switch my laptop on at all last week.

All week.

I might go the odd day without going on-line, but not a week. No email, other than on my phone, no energy to do anything.

I decided it was best to have a break from it all, catch up on some reading and relax. Recharge the old batteries. And, my batteries definitely feel old. πŸ™‚

Back into the swing of things now. As I’ve said a few times in recent posts, NaNo is great to get you into a writing routine. 50k is a tough target and I don’t think I could write any more than that in a month, but 50k doesn’t complete your novel. The work continues after NaNo to finish the first draft.

I’ve hit 6k so far in September (58k in total) and my aim now is to return to a NaNo style writing habit over the next few weeks to put this draft to bed. Or at least into the top drawer as I plan to start the next draft of my crime novel as soon as I’ve finished this one. I know. Glutton for punishment.

I’m on chapter 25 of 30. The rest of A Scream In The Woods is mapped out and I just need to write it. The simple part, right? I wish.

Thanks for reading and happy writing.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Scream In The Woods

  1. Welcome back.I’m sure it won’t take you long now you’ve had the Camp NaNo experience to posh of this draft of this last 5 chapters.. Best of luck with it.

  2. howmyspiritsings says:

    I know how you felt after finishing the NaNoWriMo marathon, You’ve had your rest, but now it is time to get back in the writer’s seat and finish that book! As Larry the Cable guys says, “Git er Done!”

  3. EllaDee says:

    I’m not surprised you didn’t want to look at your laptop for a week… it happens, and a break does good. Your efforts at writing especially as you’ve also been working and living every day life, are tremendous πŸ™‚

  4. Julie says:

    Sometimes it’s good to let the batteries recharge. Sometimes I think I should try this and see what happens… πŸ˜‰

    Congrats on getting back to work on this and continuing the write every day routine. Even if you don’t reach NaNo numbers, you don’t have to. You just need to get the draft done. Good luck, and I look forward to reading more about the progress you make on this.

  5. alphawriter says:

    Nice to take a day away from the online temptation while writing. Good luck with the new project Pete

  6. Hey, great work! That’s really inspiring to see someone working so hard on their book. I get behind some days and occasionally feel a bit lazy and like I can let a day or two or three go by without writing, so it’s nice to be reminded that writing every day is a very achievable goal and something I should try a bit harder for. Congratulations on getting so much done!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks for commenting. I ALWAYS feel lazy, but manage to plug away to get the work done. I reward myself for hitting the targets. I do feel writing everyday, however many words is a good target. Happy writing πŸ™‚

  7. Subtlekate says:

    It’s great to keep up that momentum.

  8. Best of luck on your last five chapters, Pete!!

  9. 4amWriter says:

    breaks are healthy, even better with a pint of beer and a pizza.

  10. katkasia says:

    Congratulations! Over 50K in a month is a monumental effort – no wonder you need a break. Must be like having wobbly legs at the end of a marathon.
    I’m terribly impressed. πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Work in Progress Challenge Part two. And I Promise to be honest | Jennifer M Eaton

  12. Nano seems to give you enough to make it through the final push. YOu can do it! Though if you wrote YA, you would have a completed manuscript. πŸ˜‰

Let me know what you think

