Camp NaNo: 10 Days in

We are more than a third of the way through the month already. Time flies when you’re doing this camping lark.

The second five days have gone well. A Scream in the Woods is progressing as well as I could have hoped for and I’m on track to hit more than 50k by the end of the month.

At the end of day ten I had a total word-count of 22,195, an average of over 2k a day. Looking back through my end of month updates, I’ve already surpassed all the monthly totals though I think it’s a little misleading as the other totals were editing/re-writing and they take longer to go through.

This is free-writing and it feels great. I’d forgotten what it is like to write the first draft of a novel. I want some more.

Progress chart time:

I don’t know what happened on the 8th. Over 4k words for a single day, which is a record for me since I started keeping records. Back in the 80s when I started writing I might have bettered that total, but not for a long time.

Twenty of the 30 chapters are now mapped and a few things that have happened during the first ten chapters have made me change my mind on where the story will go to reach the end.

Most people commenting on my Planners or Pantsers post, seem to be in the flying by the seat of their pants group. I will continue to fly the flag for the planners. 🙂

Tomorrow will see the second guest posting on my blog. This time Craig Hallam will be providing his answer to the question: Planner or Pantser? I hope you will tune in and give Craig your support.

Happy writing fellow campers.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Camp NaNo: 10 Days in

  1. Julie says:

    Nice progress. Way to go. And I know what you mean about the joy of first drafts. Sometimes I wonder if I write so much for the sole purpose of feeding my addiction to that feeling. 😀

  2. Subtlekate says:

    Congratulations. I am not too far behind you on 21,000 words.
    Keep up the good camping.

  3. Craig Hallam says:

    Im super impressed, mate. Wish I could do the same. My WIP is in desperate need of some attention. Cant wait to read it!

    • Pete Denton says:

      You should have done NaNo. Guilt yourself into writing.

      Once you’ve got the launch out of the way I’m sure you’ll get back into it. We need out next get together to inspire each other again.

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Great work. Wow, 4,000 in one day. I remember a couple of years ago when I had an entire day/night with no children and no husband to take care of and I wrote 6,000 words. I just couldn’t stop. I don’t think I even ate that day.

    Keep trucking along! 🙂

  5. It’s really cool that you keep track of these things. 🙂 I read about an author who tracked wordcount, location, and a bunch of stuff in his Excel spreadsheet to figure out where he was best at editing vs. drafting (Starbucks or at his desk).

  6. Please strike my earlier comment. It was for the previous day’s blog post. I am slowly turning into a pantser and it’s quite a scary thing. I loved having outlines and a clear idea of where things were going. But I have to say having the characters hijack my story makes for a far better story. 🙂

Let me know what you think

