Camp NaNo: 5 Days gone

Five days of Camp NaNoing and I’m having a blast!

Before the start my nerves were jangling over whether I could immerse myself into writing another novel. As my other WIP has been at the forefront of my (writing) thinking for so many years, part of me wondered whether I could do this at all. I’ve done a fair amount short stories, but writing another novel is a totally different beast.

Ok, I haven’t finished it yet, but I am enjoying the new story. I’m there in my mind and it’s occupying all my writing thoughts. The other story is well and truly pushed into a drawer, which should help me when I attack the next draft as I will be coming at it with fresh eyes.

I’m loving restricting this new story to the main protagonist’s POV and writing in the first person is flowing better than I could have hoped. I wanted to average 2k a day and after five days I have a total of 10,747. I am well ‘appy as we would say in these parts.

I thought it was worthy of a chart 🙂

As you can see, Day Four had a bit of a lull. That’s called Sensational Saturday where #TeamGB won a magnificent SIX GOLD medals at the London 2012 Olympics. It’s very difficult to write when your nation’s competitors are putting in so many cracking performances.

In the end I was really pleased to exceed 1k words. Overall, no complaints with the GOLDS or the words.

Still a lot of work to do, but I have managed to plan another few of the chapters to be about half-way through my planning. More on that later in the week.

If you are taking part in August Camp NaNo, how are you doing?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Camp NaNo: 5 Days gone

  1. Julie says:

    I just started for August NaNo yesterday, but it was a good start, so I’m not complaining. After all, I wasn’t sure I’d be participating this round. Yet here I am. 🙂

    Glad to hear about your good progress and that you’re enjoying being onto a new project. I always find it a bit energizing myself.

  2. You did a spreadsheet! As a closet nerd/geek (no offence?) I am very impressed. I will be doing November this year and I am absolutely terrified! I am currently working on plotting in Scriv. Well done on your word count. Any ninja’s yet?

    • Pete Denton says:

      No offence taken. I love charts and spreadsheets. The day job involves me working with spreadsheets all day long so I have to integrate them into helping my writing 🙂

      I am already planning on taking part in full NaNoWriMo in November, early planning required for that one. Best on luck with your entry and I’ll leave the ninjas for you!

  3. Well done Pete, keep up the good work, just like our athletes are continuing to do.

  4. Yay! Go Pete! I want to do a NaNo of some kind, sometime.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Vanessa.

      Proper NaNoWriMo is just a few months away. Time for some planning to take part in that one? I’m having a blast so far so I highly recommend taking part.

  5. Good for you, Pete!! You’re making progress on your planning!!

  6. Well done! I am lingering around the 6k mark at the moment. So many summer distractions.

    • Pete Denton says:

      I know what you mean. I think my word count will plummet when I return to the day job on Tuesday. I need to have a bumper weekend I think. Happy writing and finding a way out of the distractions.

Let me know what you think

