Arrived at the camp site

Firstly, you might have noticed that I’ve picked up my posting over the last few days. I’m on leave during the Olympics so with no work to sap my energy I feel a new lease of life. It will end from 14th August when I return to work 😦 But I don’t want to think about that now.

Now I’m thinking about it. Damn 🙂

This is the year of the challenge for me. And ever since I heard of this competition, I have wanted to take part in NaNoWriMo. I plan on doing so this November and this is a bit of a taster run.

I have the first 13 days when I’m not at work so need to make a fast start. Get as many of the 50k written before the brain-drain kicks back in.

I’m a planner not a pantser.

I had the idea for this novel a few months ago, wrote a couple of paragraphs in my notebook and let the idea fester in the back of my mind. Once the 2nd draft of my other WIP was in the drawer, I started planning this new project.

I mentioned yesterday that I downloaded (then bought) Scrivener and one of the things I already love about this programme is the corkboard and being able to use that as a planning device.

I start with the intention of writing a thirty chapter novel. Scrivener lets me set up these chapters and outline what will happen.

My New Notebook

New WIP, new Notebook, same old thumb

I don’t outline the whole novel in one go. Nor, do I necessarily stick to the plan. The characters are free to do whatever they want to do. They tell me where they want to go and what they will do. But I have the outline to help keep me on track. Keep a target to aim for and without that I struggle.

At the start of this NaNo I had outlined the first six chapters, three in the middle somewhere and the last three. I HAVE to know generally where we are going. The ending might change, like everything else. That makes 12 of the 30 chapters outlined and the rest will fill in as I go.

This novel will be a mystery/thriller (hopefully people will find it thrilling) so I’m stepping away from my usual police procedural. It is all from the main protagonist’s POV, again not something I usually do. I like to splice those strands together 🙂

I might give more away as we go through the month. I might not.

At the end of the first day I hit 2,254 words. More than happy with the start.

If you’re taking part remember to leave a tidy camp behind you. Happy Camping!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Arrived at the camp site

  1. Your system is similar to the way I write, but I use Microsoft Word. I would start out with 30 chapters and write 1667 words or more each day. I always had some idea where the book was going and always knew what I was going to be writing the next day. That way I could think about it throughout the day until I sat down again to write the next day. I have participated in NaNoWriMo every November for the past three years and have won each year.

  2. Subtlekate says:

    A couple of weeks of work is a great time to dig in. I’m doing the same.
    Great w/c for day one, well done.
    I am writing a genre I haven’t tried before and I’m enjoying the difference.
    Hotdogs in my tent!

  3. Pingback: Changing Course:ROW80 Update #8 « shanjeniah

  4. Enjoy the break Pete even if you have set yourself quite a writing goal. I hope the sun shines a bit for you. Good luck with NaNoWriMo !

  5. robincoyle says:

    Are you writing or watching the Olympics Pete? Tell the truth.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Ahem. Both.

      I’m from Sheffield and Jessica Ennis is a Sheffielder so I am watching the Heptathlon like a hawk. With my laptop on I can type and have sport on in the background.

      Another 2k words today so not too bad. If the Olympics weren’t on I would have easily done triple my word count on all three days.

  6. Pingback: Planner or Pantser? That is the question. « Pete Denton – Writer

  7. 4amWriter says:

    Sounds like you’re making a good start at Camp. I see that a lot of people are involved in it this month. I hadn’t really gotten my stuff together in time to start August 1, although I did start a new WIP. Sometimes I tell myself, ‘it’s not too late to jump into camp’…but I think I’ll live vicariously through you true campers. 🙂

  8. Pingback: One year on « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

