July 12 – Update

July has been and gone. 2013 is hurtling towards us faster than an Olympic sprinter.

I mentioned in my June Update never to take a holiday if you know we’re off and definitely don’t follow us anywhere. Well we’re off this week and the UK weather turned from glorious sunshine and warm weather back to … well it’s chucking it down again. AGAIN!

Still it doesn’t bother me as there is this sporting event on at the moment. I love the Olympics and so any excuse to sit and watch sport on television. I don’t need asking twice 🙂

Today we’ve had a visit to see the vet. Our little bundle of fluff, Munchie had a large curling nail that needed attention. He is the softest cat we’ve had and we’re into double digits. He has a squeak that is barely audible and would have difficulty scaring a butterfly, but when we went anywhere near his claw he turned into psycho cat from hell.

Munchie our cat

Munchie looking thoughtful

He also HATES going to the vets. I mean, who wouldn’t object to be stuffed into a small box and transported who-knows-where under sufferance? I know I would probably take exception to a couple of giants doing the same to me.

Anyway, the vets had a look, picked up some clippers and cut.

Nothing.

He didn’t make a sound. Psycho cat was as good as gold and it made us feel a tad daft for having so many struggles with him. Then again that is one of the joys of cats. Contrary animals.

*

Onto the goals:

*

1) Write more:

This month I’ve managed to write:

    • o words;
    • which is 0 pages;
    • or 0 chapters.

When I finished the 2nd draft last month, I decided to take the month off and prepare for Camp NaNo. I didn’t want to do any writing this month. I thought about writing a couple of short stories, but with being so busy at work writing took a back seat.

*

2) Read more:

I’ve read TWO books this month, which means this is the most books I’ve ever read in a calendar year. YAY!

The two books were: Lennox by Craig Russell, which was alright. I enjoyed it though not as much as the Jan Faber stories he writes. The other was a non fiction title Megacatastrophes. This was a book I read for the Eclectic Reading Challenge and my review is the previous post to this one.

It might only be a grand total of THIRTEEN so far, but it’s an achievement for me to read that many. I have more that 25 on my Kindle and more on the bookshelf. There is enough material for the next two years. So I better get a move on.

*

3) Stay the same weight & Migraine watch:

The healthy eating plan continues and I have broken my weird curly wurly dependence. I have mixed it up by adding the odd crunchie into the mix. Rock and Roll or what 🙂

The warmer weather earlier in the month has meant the nasty Mr Migraine has been lurking most of the month. This is another reason for my lack of writing energy. When it’s a little on the warm side I often have migraines during my sleep. I wake up and can feel the heat in my head and the migraine. I get back to sleep and they go, but I’m bored with them now!

The last week hasn’t been as bad so hopefully August will be kinder month. Hopefully.

*

I’m off to pack my gear for Camp NaNo in the morning. How are your goals for 2012 going?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Camp Nano, Novel In Progress, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to July 12 – Update

  1. My sympathies with your Munchie. Maybe it’s a cat thing but Oscar whines like hell in the carrier and will even attempt to bite, but in the vet’s surgery…Nada. He even gets called a ‘Good Boy’ which couldn’t be further from the truth.
    Speaking of Munchies……your addiction to curlie-wurlies/crunchies may be broken with a liberal helping from a bag of munchies. I’d forgotten how much I likes them as a child ( Yes, we did have chocolate in my day) until I found a bag of mini ones on a supermarket shelf.
    Well done with the writing or lack thereof.
    Well done with the reading, great pastime but put the book down and back away, sport’s on.
    Hard luck with nasty Mr. Migraine, no fun at all. I have fingers crossed that August is kinder to you.
    My goals for 2012 proceeding nicely- made none !

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, David. I think it is more often than not the best way to approach achieving goals, not setting them in the first place. Maybe, Mr Migraine is here because I’m eating too much chocolate? I can’t entertain that notion. I am finding it enjoyable to watch sports that I wouldn’t usually watch.Diversify and all that 🙂

  2. I rarely make goals for a whole year because what I want in January and what I want in July are usually polar opposites. I’m contrary like that. My *current* goal is to finally get my book onto bookshelves so I can move on with my life and stop editing it over and over and over, lol. Maybe I can even do the November NaNo, if I get cracking!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks for commenting.

      I suffer from Repetitive Editing Syndrome as well. Good luck with letting it go and if you do end up participating in real NaNo, best of luck.

  3. My goals are coming along. Nothing to complain about!!

  4. Subtlekate says:

    Happy camping Pete and I am sure you’ll get out those words with no trouble at all. I am sorry to hear about your migraines this month. Ofter my op I am headache free for the first time in years and what a difference it is making to me. I was much like your cat at the vet. Very cranky.

    I hope August can see you pain free. 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Kate. I’m glad you’re headache free and long may that continue. I’m looking forward to camping later. 50k seems like a massive amount of words right now, but I do like a challenge.

  5. robincoyle says:

    Where is “hang on Robin’s every word” on the list?

    All jokes aside, sorry to hear your migraines are lurking.

  6. katkasia says:

    Good to hear what you’re up to. And that is one beautiful cat you have there – very cuddly looking. 🙂

  7. Jeannie says:

    All’s well that ends well with the kitty…:) Hope the writing gets to take a front seat soon. I know how it can be sometimes…I’ve been going through a spell of non-writing myself but onward we go! Less migraines, more happy times. xox

  8. Lots of bloggers seem to be talking about cats lately! (Well three that I’ve read today anyway). I shall be sometime soon too…

    My writing is going ok, but I need to up my reading I think. Maybe I’ll give myself a reading goal sometime.

  9. You inspired me to track my word count and my calorie count. I use Excel for the words and an app called fitnesspal on my phone to log my calories. So far I’ve lost 8 lbs. 🙂 Thanks for inspiring me! Hope your cat feels better soon!

Let me know what you think

