Recommended Book: My Barsetshire Diary by Lord David Prosser

  • My Barsetshire Diary cover designFormat: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 206 KB
  • Publisher: Mediablvd,; 2 edition (4 Jun 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon UK
  • Language: English

Overview

A fictitious look at Lord David’s day as a member of the Gentry living in a small village. Come and meet the villagers like Mellors the gardener with a past and Grizelda the housekeeper. Join us at the village fete where Edna is determined to win the jam making competition at any price. See how the formidable Lady J intends to knock Lord David into shape.
Is the famous stiff upper lip his only protection? Is anyone really this naïve? The answer is a resounding YES !

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

My Review

After the dystopian related reading of late this book was a very welcome diversion back to good old blighty. A lot of the books I read rely on violence, bad language and sex to entertain …  Ok so there’s nothing wrong with that, but humour is another sure-fire winner.

My Barsetshire Diary is a fabulous depiction of his life as a Lord in the modern age. As the title suggests, it’s written as a diary in the first person with each day telling us a charming story of his family life. I thought this was a well written collection and Oscar the cat stole the show.

From Lord David’s approach to dieting, his eye for a bargain the collection of tales wouldn’t be out of place on a sunday afternoon on the BBC. Each of the tales come to life on the page and this book is another good reason to own a Kindle.

Thank you, your Lordship 😀

Eclectic Reading Challenge 2012 image

This is another book I have read that does not fall into one of the categories for the eclectic Reading Challenge. I’m just so blasé in reading for the fun of it now.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recommended Book: My Barsetshire Diary by Lord David Prosser

  1. Your extortionate fee would have been in this letter had I not sealed it in error Pete. I can’t thank you enough for your kindness.

  2. robincoyle says:

    This sounds like my kind of book. I’ll check, but do you know if it available in the US?

  3. EllaDee says:

    Thank you, this the perfect book for me to suggest for book club 🙂

  4. Sounds like a fun read. I’m trying to get through my bookcase of waiting to be read books. LOL. But then there are my Kindle waiting to be reads too. 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      I know what you mean. I have over 20 to be read on my kindle and a shelf of paper books. At my current speed I have reading material for about 4 years 🙂

      I did enjoy this book. Glad it made it towards the top of the list.

  5. Pingback: Eclectic Reading in 2012 « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

