Recommended Book: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  • Mockingjay - The Hunger Games 3Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 603 KB
  • Print Length: 455 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 01407109375
  • Publisher: Scholastic Fiction; 1 edition (3 May 2011)
  • Sold by: AmazonAmazon UK
  • Language English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled

Overview

Can Katniss Everdeen win the final fight against the Capitol? Against all odds, she’s survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she is still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no-one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12… Find out what the Mockingjay really stands for in the third book of the nerve-shredding, adrenaline-soaked _Hunger Games_ trilogy

My Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

My Review

Mockingjay is the last book in The Hunger Games trilogy. You knew that though, didn’t you?

When I reviewed and rated the first two books (The Hunger Games Review. Catching Fire Review) they both scored 5 out of 5.

Despite the fall in ★ to 4 out of 5, I enjoyed reading this book. And, I still recommending reading this book. I just didn’t think it was as good as the first two.

The Hunger Games took me by surprise. I didn’t expect to enjoy reading it (I’m not young and this was YA fiction!).  I loved it.

Catching Fire took me on a bigger and better journey. I knew the characters, I was more invested in their story and as a result I enjoyed it more.

Mockingjay should have taken that to the next level. A third story with the same characters fell a little short for me. It was a roller coaster ride and  delivers another breathtaking journey. At time too much of the story didn’t feel right. I’ve read somewhere that Suzanne Collins never meant to write a trilogy. The books presented themselves that way after writing the first one.

Maybe, there were four stories about Katniss Everdeen’s and her group. Books three and four were simply condensed into this last book. Some of the characters were on the periphery too much, some of the stories not explored in enough depth and it suffered a little because of it.

I’m talking a fine line here as it was still a very good read and I am glad to have read the three books this year. I won’t reveal what happens – I don’t like to do that – and some reviews say how much they hated the ending. I thought it was a fitting end to the story.

I look forward to the film(s) and I highly recommend all three books.

This book was in addition to my Eclectic Reading Challenge. In addition. I am ahead of my target and could afford to read something just for the hell of it!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recommended Book: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  1. I’m not sure I’m ready to put The Hunger Games on my reading list yet.

  2. I read The Hunger Games and loved it, but when I got the 2nd book the pacing of the beginning made me antsy for the action to start. I made it 75 pages and put the book aside to return to later. I plan to finish the trilogy, and your review definitely spurs me on.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins | My Seryniti

  4. Pingback: Eclectic Reading in 2012 « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

