Recommended Book: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  • Recommended Book: Catching Fire by Suzanne CollinsFormat: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 566 KB
  • Print Length: 472 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1407109367
  • Publisher: Scholastic Fiction; 1 edition (3 May 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon, Amazon UK
  • Language English

Overview

Katniss survived the Hunger Games. Now the Capitol wants revenge. It’s payback time, and her chance of survival is even slimmer than ever… After winning the brutal Hunger Games, Katniss and Peeta have returned to District 12, hoping for a peaceful future. But their victory has caused rebellion to break out – and the Capitol has decided that someone must pay. As Katniss and Peeta are forced to visit the other districts on the Capitol’s Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. Unless they can convince the world that they are still lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying. Then comes the cruellest twist: the contestants for the next Hunger Games are announced, and Katniss and Peeta are forced into the arena once more…

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

My Review

This is the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy.

You knew that right? I thought so.

These three books are all the rage at the moment, have been for a while and I’m sure they will be for a long time. I read the first book as a number of people recommended it. After reading The Hunger Games I downloaded Catching Fire straight away.

This starts as the first book ends and immediately falls into the same style and breathtaking pace. If anything I enjoyed this more than the original. Maybe because the characters were already developed and I felt comfortable picking up the next part of their journey. I like reading books where I’m already invested in the characters.

I tend to read a book over a week or so, fitting it in around work, writing and watching television. I started reading Catching Fire on a Monday and finished it on the Thursday. I couldn’t put it down.

I downloaded the third book in the series before I finished this and I started reading it the next day. I NEED to get to the end of this story. If you only read one trilogy this year. Make it this one.

This is the EIGHTH book I have read for this challenge. I classified the first book of the trilogy as Young Adult and I’ve checked the categories used for this book on Goodreads and a LOT fit it into the Science Fiction genre so I am classing this as my Science Fiction entry.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Recommended Book: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Anxious to see how you like Mockingjay. Reviews are mixed. Readers either seem to love it or hate it.

  2. rtd14 says:

    I’ve started reading some Young Adult fiction, too, especially since I work with kids. I enjoyed reading your review. I need to read the books. Needless to say, this is a good review!

  3. EllaDee says:

    Simultaneously as I’m liking this post I’m logging on to Goodreads & adding #2 & #3 to #1 on my to read list. I’m not sure if you are a good example or a dire warning…

  4. Love this book! I’d almost say I like it more than the first book, purely because this book features Finnick Odair – aka, the fictional love of my life. I used to promote the Hunger Games trilogy to all my friends, but ever since the movie came out, they’ve started asking me if I’ve read it, lol. Enjoy Mockingjay!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Michelle. I can see many people feeling that way about Finnick. 🙂 On reflection, I preferred it to the first book. I’ve finished Mockingjay. Review next week so I won’t spoil the surprise.

  5. Pingback: May 12 – Update « Pete Denton – Writer

  6. Debra Colby-Conklin says:

    Hi Pete!

    I read all three Hunger Games within a space of a month. My son was very impressed, he’d only gotten through the first. Really enjoyed the movie as well. Thanks for stopping by my blog and giving me a “like” on my posts…I really appreciate it!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Debra no problem. I’ve now finished the trilogy too. I want to see the film to see what they’ve done with the story. I prefer to read the book first so I can tut and chunter about what they’ve done 🙂

      • Debra Colby-Conklin says:

        Hi Pete.

        I was surprised to see how closely it followed the book, of course not everything from the book was in the movie (time constraints I’m sure) but the major stuff was there. Both my son and I were less impressed with the Mutts though. They were more like computer generated dog-things rather than super scary monster things. But it was a good afternoon for us though. I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance to see it.

  7. Pingback: Recommended Book: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins « Pete Denton – Writer

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Congrats on reading your 8th book for the challenge Pete, I need to catch up!

    Thanks for sharing your review for the Eclectic Reader Challenge

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Shelleyrae. I’m even reading books that aren’t included in the challenge. Just for fun! Who’d have thought I’d do that this year 🙂

  9. Pingback: Eclectic Reading in 2012 « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

