Recommended book: Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 509 KB
  • Print Length: 466 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0553840479
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (13 Feb 2009)
  • Sold by:Amazon UK, Play.com, Amazon US
  • Language English
  • Official Dean Koontz website

Overview

“The dead don’t talk. I don’t know why.” But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Odd Thomas thinks of himself as an ordinary guy, if possessed of a certain measure of talent at the Pico Mundo Grill and rapturously in love with the most beautiful girl in the world, Stormy Llewellyn. Maybe he has a gift, maybe it’s a curse, Odd has never been sure, but he tries to do his best by the silent souls who seek him out. Sometimes they want justice, and Odd’s otherworldly tips to Pico Mundo’s sympathetic police chief, Wyatt Porter, can solve a crime. Occasionally they can prevent one. But this time it’s different. A mysterious man comes to town with a voracious appetite, a filing cabinet stuffed with information on the world’s worst killers, and a pack of hyena-like shades following him wherever he goes. Who the man is and what he wants, not even Odd’s deceased informants can tell him. His most ominous clue is a page ripped from a day-by-day calendar for August 15.

Today is August 14.

In less than twenty-four hours, Pico Mundo will awaken to a day of catastrophe. As evil coils under the searing desert sun, Odd travels through the shifting prisms of his world, struggling to avert a looming cataclysm with the aid of his soul mate and an unlikely community of allies that includes the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll. His account of two shattering days when past and present, fate and destiny converge is the stuff of our worst nightmares—and a testament by which to live: sanely if not safely, with courage, humor, and a full heart that even in the darkness must persevere.

My Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

My Review

I grew up reading Dean Koontz books. In my early twenties I only read a couple of books a year, if that. The books I read were by him.  Phantoms, The Servants of the Twilight, The Bad Place and Whispers were some of my favourite books of his, all early work.

For some reason I stopped reading his books. I cannot remember why, I just did. I even gave all my books of his away to a charity shop (it is good to support charity shops) so when someone suggested one of his books for this challenge I jumped at the chance.  It was like putting on an old pair of shoes. Instantly comfortable. The writing style drew me in and remembered why I had enjoyed reading his stories.

This book’s written in the first person and is from the title character’s (Odd Thomas) point of view.  The story unfolds over two days and what an action packed 48 hours we have in store. There are touches of absolute genius with some of the characters, particularly a silent former King.

This book has made me realise I was missing this genre. I will be downloading more horror and more Dean Koontz.

This is the seventh book I have read for the Eclectic Reading Challenge 2012. This is the book for the Horror category.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Reading, Recommended Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Recommended book: Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

  1. You write a good and fair review Pete. So much so that you may have tempted me back to a genre I haven’t touched since the earllest of James Herbert’s and Co’s books. I like the fact that a bit of humour seems to be included albeit a touch dark. Maybe I can interrupt my Harlan Coben rereads for this.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, David.

      I hadn’t read horror for more than a decade until last year, but it has wetted my appetite to read some more. I’m sure Harlan won’t mind 🙂

  2. Linda Govik says:

    I’ve read one book by Dean Koontz before in my life, and it was a loooong time ago. As I can recall it, I did enjoy it, but it wasn’t enough to make me continue reading any of his other works. Your review makes me want to try again. I do love horror, always have. The last book I read was “Handling the Undead” by John Ajvide Lindqvist – also a recommended read in this genre! Thanks 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Linda. I do plan on reading some John Ajvide Lindqvist, proabably “Let the right one in”

      I enjoyed this book and thought it was a good one to read to re-introduce myself to Dean and his writing. If you check it out, I hope you enjoy reading it.

  3. Pingback: Recommended book: Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz « Pete Denton … – Crime Fiction

  4. I haven’t read a Dean Koontz book. It’s so on my to read list. This sounds fantastic. 🙂

  5. EllaDee says:

    I also haven’t read Dean Koontz but your reading challenge & reviews are having an impact on me, so once again upon your recommendation, I’ll look this one up 🙂

  6. One of my favorites, this one! 😉

  7. Koontz was one of my reading mainstays back in the 1970s. I read “Hell’s Gate” in 1971 or so and got addicted. Beastchild, Anti-Man, Demon Child, Crimson Witch, Legacy of Terror, Warlock, Time Thieves, Dance with the Devil, Demon Seed, and on and on. I bet if I sat down and focused, I could name all his books from the 1970s and 1980s. I lost track of him when I moved to San Diego in 1993. Maybe it’s time to add him to my Goodreads list.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Russel, I was in the same place. Not San Diego, but I’d read loads of his early books and then moved on to other things. I was delighted to pick one of his books up again.

  8. Pingback: Random Book Reviews « Fat Girl Approved

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ve read quite a lot of Koontz early books and picked up Odd Thomas a few months ago but I couldn’t finish it. I can’t remember exactly why now but I think I only got a quarter of the way through before deciding to leave it for another day

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks for commenting. Your challenge certainly has me reading more widely than ever before. Maybe you’ll finish Odd Thomas some time. I will probably buy the next one in the series I’m just waiting for the kindle price to fall a little 🙂

  10. Pingback: May 12 – Update « Pete Denton – Writer

  11. Pingback: Eclectic Reading in 2012 « Pete Denton – Writer

  12. Pingback: Recommended Book: Odd Interlude by Dean Koontz | Pete Denton - Writer

Let me know what you think

