National Flash Fiction Day

Today is National Flash Fiction day in the UK.

I must admit that I had never heard of Flash Fiction until last year.

When my writing group were talking about publishing a book of our stories someone suggested we include Flash Fiction and I said “Wha’?”

During the OU Creative Writing course we had to write many stories around the 500 word mark and it is a good challenge for your writing to get a story across is so few words. I didn’t know it had a name or such an online presence.

We decided to write a short story with a 500 word limit and four of them made it into our e-book Just Get It Out There, including my story, Birthday Surprise.

Back to the day, there is an official website at http://www.nationalflashfictionday.co.uk/ bringing loads of details about competitions and the events planned.

In honour of the first National Flash Fiction day I’ve decided to post my story: Birthday Surprise later today.

So, I urge you all to dig out a really short story and publish one on your blog today. Link back here and I’ll make sure I pop over to read it over a cold glass of orange and a curly wurly!

My stash of the wurly ones

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Flash Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to National Flash Fiction Day

  1. Elliot says:

    Forget the flash fiction, there’s 14 Curly Wurlys sitting there needing eating (they are difficult to get hold of in the US).

    Actually, I had not even heard of Flash fiction until recently either, I will check out the site – thanks Pete.

Let me know what you think

