March 12 – Update

I love March.

It’s the month I was born; time for spring to join us and usually the month when we take a full week off work. We’ve also had the bonus of great weather for the last week. We took advantage and drove out into Derbyshire. I took a sunny photograph of some daffodils by the side of the river in Bakewell.

Daffodils at Bakewell

I started doing an update on the last day of each month to keep a check on my progress against my goals for 2012. It keeps me honest.

This monthly post is a way of celebrating what I’ve achieved and set a benchmark for the next month. I can’t believe how quickly March has been and gone. April will be a challenge, but more on that tomorrow!

Just Get It Out There

March also saw the launch of my writing group’s e-book Just Get It Out There. You can read the post here and follow the links to the FREE e-book. It has short stories, Flash Fiction and some poetry. Did I mention that it is FREE.

So how am I doing against my goals for the year?

*

Write more:

This month I’ve managed to write:

    • 17,922 words;
    • which is 60 pages;
    • or 6 chapters of my book.

I’m a little disappointed to have only written on 17 of March’s 31 days, but I’ve increased my word count again this month. In the first seven days I managed 7k words though we were off work so as soon as we went back there was no way I could keep up that level. This is my busiest time of the year at work and I am a ZOMBIE at the moment so I am really pleased with nearly 18k words.

And I’m happy to have kept the average above 1k words a day. So happy I’ve included chart/graph.

The plan for April is to improve on March.

*

Read more:

I set a target of 24 books in 2012. Two books a month.

And this month I’ve managed a grand total of … ZERO.

Er … time for a recount. No it was ZERO 🙂

I find reading difficult to do when tired and I refer you to the ZOMBIE line earlier. Really busy at work = heavy eyelids.

I’ve started reading the fifth DEXTER novel and should finished it soon.

Not on track, but I will be able to catch-up.

*

Stay the same weight & Migraine watch:

The healthy eating plan continues, more or less. Easter eggs are ridiculously cheap at the moment and I deserve a treat!

Other than that my diet has been the same for months. I’ve been the same weight (+/- a couple of lbs) since November and my gallbladder will NOT let me eat anything good so this part of the goals for 2012 is keeping on track.

No migraines in-month. YAY!

*

How are you doing with your goals for 2012?

End of the first quarter, are you still on track?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Novel In Progress, Reading, Steel City Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to March 12 – Update

  1. Julie says:

    Congrats. March has definitely been a busy and successful month for you, which I am delighted to see 🙂 Looking forward to watching you keep it up in April.

  2. rtd14 says:

    I think 24 books is a reasonable and good goal. I have not set a goal as far as what I will read. Right now I’m still trying to get through the Charles Lindbergh biography, Doctor Zhivago, and a YA book by Karen Hesse study and experience more of the genre I’m writing. I’ve been working on Lindbergh for more than a month. I’m happy to know I’m not the only one struggling the work with goals. It is a challenge.

    I have to build my schedule around my son and the writing work I’m paid for and deadlines. My goal is get my early morning schedule going strong. Thanks Pete for sharing your goals!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Rebecca. I know that if I don’t set goals I’ll not do anything. I’m definitely a put off ’til tomorrow and watch tv today kind of guy 🙂 Good luck balancing your schedule.

  3. robincoyle says:

    Yeah – no migraines! Glad to see you back Pete!

  4. Glad to have your review of March and goals. Reminded me to post about your eBook. I highly recommend it.

  5. Apart from the obvious detour to Derbyshire to highlight the daffs growing, I’d say you’ve had a fairly productive month Pete. Your average word count is good, you’re managing to read- where you’re not writing that is- and you’re keeping to what sounds like ‘The diet of the Damned’. Easter next week so I agree time for a treat. How about a dark chocolate treat to see if you can maintain the no migraine record?
    Have fun in April and lets see if you can get two books out as you intend and hope.
    Good Luck Matey.
    David

  6. Sure hope you meet or surpass your goals for April, Pete!! Hang tough!!

  7. You seem very organised with your goals. Pat on back for you! 😉 My goals tend to be more vague, like “I need to get lots of stuff done”. I do get lots of stuff done, but maybe I’d get more things done if I organised and measured them like you do.

  8. Jeannie says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great Pete! This is a good thing to do–I had planned to do a re-assessment in July but I may do it sooner. I already know I’ve done an about face from the first of the year. You’re right…this keeps you honest! Good job too! 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Jeannie. I want to finish the second draft by the end of May. Still on track 🙂 Good luck with your goals and I hope everything is well.

  9. “… goals for 2012?”
    Not setting goals – often – allows for a great deal of leeway. If I don’t set goals, at this stage of my life, I don’t have to worry about achieving them or not.
    Of course, I should be setting goals for my writing and other … but …!

    Write On!

  10. The Blackheart Poetess says:

    This makes my OCD so happy! Good luck Pete, hope you exceed all your goals.

  11. felixgwj says:

    I also enjoy writing, but I cannot begin to try to compare the amount I write in a month to the amount you write. 17922 words. Great job, and don’t ever stop writing!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Felix. I think it’s about finding the word count you’re happy with. By contrast to last month, I’ve hardly written anything so far in April. Still time. I will keep on writing and I hope you do too.

  12. I don’t set a target of books because just as soon as I do, along comes “The Dark Tower” series by Stephen King. Instead, I set a goal of reading one chapter or 20 pages, whichever is longer.

Let me know what you think

