February 12 – Update

It’s that special day that comes around just once every four years. Leap year feels like a free day to me and even though I’m knackered I was determined to put a little extra effort in, do some writing and finish this post.

This is the second update of the year already. Time really does fly when you start to get old. 🙂

So how are we all doing against our goals for the year?

*

Write more:

This month I’ve written:

  • 15,025 words;
  • which is 48 pages;
  • or 3.5 chapters of my book.

This is more than I managed last month and I missed a week of writing when the Nasty Mr Migraine stole my Mojo.

The sad stats geek in me also notes that I managed to write on 15 of the 29 days, which means I average 1k words on the days I write. I would like to write every day, but every other day is good enough for me. If I can nudge the number of writing days up then I’m heading in the right direction.

This month I’ve also managed 7 blog posts and helped set up the new Steel City Writers blog. So not a bad month writing-wise.

*

Read more:

I set a target of at least 24 books in 2012. So 2 a month. And this month I’ve managed a grand total of … 1.

At least I’ve read something. The book was The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (review pending). This is part of the Eclectic Reading Challenge the Classics genre, but I found it hard work. I don’t read much 19th Century literature and I know why. I enjoyed it in the end though it did take me a long time to get into the story, so I kept putting it down.

I have downloaded five other e-books so I’ll pick something lighter/modern as my next read.

Not quite on track, but will be ok.

*

Stay the same weight:

The healthy eating plan continues. I’ve been the same weight (+/- 1lb) since November. I continue to have some gall stone related problems so anything fatty is out of the question, which helps keep the weight down.

On track.

*

How are you doing with your goals for 2012?

Two months in, are you still on track?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in E-Book, Novel In Progress, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to February 12 – Update

  1. This is great news, Pete! Congrats!

    Trying to stay on track with my goals as well. Just happened to become an official published author today…on Leap Day of all days! 🙂

    I’ll take it. LOL!

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations, Valerie. That is excellent news. Today comes along so infrequently it makes it even more special when things like that happen.

  3. I’m very happy your writing life is continuing at a great clip, Pete. And you’re meeting your other goals head-on as well without beating yourself up if all of them are a bit ahead of your pace. That’s life. I hope your migraines stay away too.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Justin. I’ve decided I can only do what I do. I have good intentions and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Thanks for the tweet about migraines. I’ve checked out his site and might investigate further.

  4. Congrats on both the writing and the weight. Both awesome and things that most people can’t do. I am really enjoying the Steel City Writers blog too. Keep it up.

    Where are you going to post your review of Dorian Grey? I am interested to see your take on that. I haven’t read it in forever.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Conrad. I’m wanting to write all the time and I can start to see the finishing line on the horizon, which is a great incentive. Glad you’ve liked the start of Steel City Writers. Hopefully a lot more content – Coming Soon!

      I’ve started the book review of Dorian Gray and hopefully will be posted in the next few days.

  5. I’m on track with my writing. And I’ve increased my exercising. So some goals are going well.

    Congrats on meeting your goals. It helps keep me on track when you talk about your fabulous progress. 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Kourtney. Glad you’re on track with your writing. You’ve mentioned exercising, I’m glad I didn’t include that in my targets for 2012 as I haven’t been doing mine (bad back) I need to start doing those. 🙂

  6. Jeannie says:

    So far so good…on track and then some 🙂 No complaints!

    Good for you with the weight and writing efforts. Sounds like you are doing very well!! Get to reading though. According to all the excellent published writers out there, and in times past, it is as equally important as the writing 🙂

    I haven’t read Dorian Gray but I’d like to see your review first and then decide.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Jeannie. That’s one of the reasons I’m trying to increase my reading, to help my writing. Hopefully the review of Dorian Gray will be posted in the next couple of days.

  7. Ava Alexus says:

    Hi Pete, your update prompted me to do a quick word count check and, I’ve written over 55,000 words since the start of the year (give or take a 1,000).

    Unfortunately, it just hasn’t been for the one story. 😦

    I like the idea of 1K a day, I think it’s a good target. (I didn’t realise how many authors arrived at the at conclusion as well.)

    I wouldn’t say it’s on track, but I think I’m getting things back on track. (Also trying to behave, it’s my second week without sweets 🙂 )

    Good luck with upping your writing days!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Hahaha, I would HATE to go two weeks without any sweets!

      55k is a fantastic amount and I don’t think it matters if they have been scattered across different projects. Keep up the good work.

  8. Pingback: Writing Progress March 1, 2012 | Ava Alexus

  9. Hi Pete
    good to hear about your progress. I wouldn’t worry too much about your difficulties with the classics. I can’t manage them either – at all that is, I don’t think I’ve finished one that I have started. I think some people can and enjoy them. Others can’t and punish themselves for their “inferiority” and “lack of literary” skills. I believe you should read what you enjoy. Life and the day in general are too short to persecute oneself for not enjoying something. Don’t do it.

    All the best

    Kevin

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Kevin. I agree about the classics. I have tried to read certain books several times and give it up as a bad job. Dorian Gray was a struggle at first but I did enjoy it in the end. That said I don’t think I’ll read too many more 19th century novels.

      I like your blog and think every crime writer should pay you a visit.

  10. Wow! You’ve done loads! I’m not as organised as you, but I have been reading loads – diverse novels from our (shrinking) library, downloaded e-books and other people’s blogs. I’ve published a few blog posts myself but I haven’t quite managed to increase my weekly quota as I’d hoped to do. Hopefully your dedication will inspire – or shame – me!

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Jacqueline. I think the blogging helps shame me into keeping going. By doing the updates I do think I should do this tonight rather than just watch sport. I’m then enjoying the writing so it keeps me going.

  11. cspeno says:

    I think you’re doing fine with your goals. The fact that you are in touch with what you’ve accomplished so far this year is a positive.

    I was committed to:
    *attend 6 networking events – (so far I’m at 2)
    *get certified as a Professional Resume Writer (researched, but not taken the steps yet.
    *Add 78 posts to my blog for 2012 ( I’m at 9 new posts – a long way to go!
    refresh my web site (I’ve relaunched with my new focus on resumes, but still have more work to do)

    My feelings on goals: as long as we’re making progress toward the goals, we’re doing fine! Can’t be perfect — at least not all the time 🙂

  12. shaun ivory says:

    Pat on the back there! If I had been as disciplined at your age I like to think I’d be a successful author now! Always been distracted and diverted; some would say that points to a personality flaw and they could be right. But we are what we are, the secret being, of course, in choosing one’s parents. Neat trick and the way science is going, who knows? Third way through my fourth opus and gazing balefully at the stack of research books for the next stage in my hero’s travels… the Wild West. Been a while since I read any westerns and this looks like aversion therapy! But I am enjoying it and that’s the main thing.
    Hope you beat the health thing, at my age just breathing in and out is a bonus.
    Shaun

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Shaun. I do find it difficult sometimes to avoid the distractions. I don’t think I’ve ever read a western. Maybe I will try and rectify that some time. Thanks about the health comment. Breathing in and out is always a bonus!

Let me know what you think

