Novel – Making Progress

I’ve finished re-writing the first six chapters of my crime novel. 67 pages and just under 20k words.

Yay!

It started out as an edit, but who was I kidding? It was always going to be a re-write. What would have been the point of studying Creative Writing for three years and then not putting my new skills into practice?

It’s going slower than I wanted, but I’ve made progress and that’s good enough for me.

Because it’s a re-write, I’ve decided to pause after each five/six chapters and have another read through and edit. My writing routine works better that way. I prefer to edit on-screen and then do another one on paper. I get more sense from what I’ve written and often see things that I’d not noticed on my laptop.

I’ve also gone through a lot of my research, resolved some plot niggles and made major changes to a couple of characters, I hope for the better.

I know they recommend leaving your work for a while between drafts, but I don’t recommend five years!

The progress bar is keeping me focused as everyone visiting the site can see where I’m at. A great incentive to keep working!

Anyway, on to the next chapter.

Thanks for reading.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Novel In Progress, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Novel – Making Progress

  1. Craig Hallam says:

    Good for you, Pete! Cant wait to read it!

  2. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writer Jobs

  3. Chris James says:

    Well done Pete. Keep going with the rewrite and good luck!

  4. Sarah says:

    Hey Pete..popping by to say hello and check out your blog!! I agree let fly with the creative writing!! My sister writes those rewrites are tough! Can’t wait to read it!
    Pop on my blog too.. http://rowenleaf.blogspot.com. More about life and my art and photography, but I do like to write a bit now and again there!
    Have a great Saturday! Sarah

  5. Wayne says:

    Pete,

    I think I recommend about 5 months …. 5 years?

    How did you get back into your story? How did you pick your characters back up?

    That sounds like a couple of blog posts ….

    When can I interview you for my blog?

    And I would like you to be a guest writer when you can get time.

    Wayne

    • petedenton says:

      Thanks, Wayne.

      You’re right, there are a few blog posts in the 5 years part!

      Thank you for inviting me to be a guest writer on your blog. I’ll be in touch.

  6. scmitchell says:

    Pete,

    it sounds like you work a lot like I do, where edits turn into re-writes. It always amazes me when I go in to cut, cut, cut and end up with more words at the end of the day.

    Best of luck with your writing, and thanks for stopping by my blog.

    S.C.Mitchell
    http://scmitchell.wordpress.com/

  7. Sounds like we are in the same boat of editing. I can’t wait to see your insights into the process and maybe a peak at the novel. Got to love a good crime fiction novel.

    Thanks for the like on my blog today. Glad to find another writer that has some good content on their site. I look forward to working my way through your archive.

  8. terry6155 says:

    Pete, editing is a difficult process,67 pages completed is an accomplishment for sure. I love your progress bar! Congrats on completing the creative writing class as well. I’m right there with you on crime novels. Keep us posted on your progress!

    Theresa

  9. Bill says:

    Good for you, Pete.
    First, thanks for the “Like” on my fledgling blog.
    I sympathize with having a day job. I’m retired now, quite happily for sure, but I worked nearly 30 years in a government bureaucracy–yuk, and put of getting serious about a novel too long.
    Hope you stay with it. It’s hard work for sure. I know. I’m n the midst of re-write right now.
    I hope you have and have read my favorites…
    Writing the Breakout Novel (just finished my second reading), The Fire in Fiction (rereading now), and the Breakout Novel Workbook (soon I work my way through it with my novel) by super-successful fiction agent Donald Maass, and Revision & Self-Editing by James Scott Bell. Also, Story Engineering by the always brilliant Larry Brooks.
    At any rate, my favs.
    I also think highly of K.M. Wieland at http://wordplay-kmweiland.blogspot.com/ She’s not only gorgeous (always helps) but also a smart novelist and fiction coach.
    Thanks again.

  10. adamarmour says:

    Having just finished rewriting/editing a novel myself, I can speak from experience when I say that I hate it. That’s right. Hate. Plus, when you look at the same thing time and time again, you start to wonder what needs changing because it genuinely needs changing and what needs changing because you’re tired of looking at the same thing again and again.

    Keep up the hard work, though.

  11. rosereads says:

    Pete,

    Last night as I walking home, I realized that I needed to go back and add somethings into my novel. I am not as far as long as you, still your post has helped me quiet my nerves about doing this rewrite/edit.

    Lucinda.

  12. Jackie says:

    Congratulations on such progress–revision is the real work, I think!

  13. Vanessa McCarthy says:

    It’s great to hear you are making good progress Pete! Have you found you have changed as a writer after completing formal creative writing study? Keep up the great work. Vanessa

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks for the comment.

      I do think I’ve improved following the course. The main difference is the confidence it has given me to improve, write more and edit with purpose.

  14. Now you made me want to write. I have to do my math… at first… *BORING*… but then I will write.
    Thanks
    Maggie

Let me know what you think

