Getting away is good for your writing

Just back from a break in Shropshire.

Picture of a horse
Subject 1. I didn’t get a name.

If you’ve never been or maybe not even heard of the place, it is one of the most sparsely populated counties in England. In fact, for the first few days we saw more horses than people.

Seriously. The horse count was about fifty and we had only encountered about ten people. I took a photograph of one of the horses in a field opposite where we were staying. As proof.

I’m not a prolific reader. I know some people will rattle off four or five books on a week-long holiday. Not me. I did read Killer Move by Michael Marshall and caught up on last month’s Writing Magazine and Writers’ Forum.
I thought the book was a really good read. I started reading Michael Marshall back when The Straw Men came out and have bought each of his books since. The Intruders is my favourite of his but I enjoyed reading this new one, very entertaining. Makes you want to check your passwords!
I find both writing magazines really useful, not only for generating ideas but providing tips and pointers on what to focus on when revising my work. They helped me resolve a couple of issues I’ve had for a while over some of the plot points on my book. I also had a couple of ideas for some Flash Fiction and short stories. All in all it was a good week for creative writing. Without actually doing any writing.
Pete at Ironbridge
Just to prove I was at Ironbridge

For the record, Ludlow and Shrewsbury had lots of people and no horses. Just to show that I really did go, I’ve included a picture of me at Ironbridge. It’s a World Heritage site so I had to have a photo.

Shropshire was a very nice place to visit. If you want to get away from it all for a while and like having green space and fresh country air, then I highly recommend it. It certainly helped me clear out some of the cobwebs, take a fresh look at my writing and the current projects I’m working on. Now I’m back at home and ready to work. One short story is on a final (ish) draft so hopefully will be sending that off soon.

Thanks for reading.
About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting away is good for your writing

  1. Pingback: How Hard Can It Be? « turenn

  2. Elisa says:

    I haven’t read any of Michael Marshall’s books, but they sound phenomenal. Thanks for sharing this wonderful post 🙂

  3. jvonbargen says:

    Nice write! I’ll have to check out Michael Marshall. Shropshire IS lovely, I’ve been to Shrewsbury and love the quaintness of it, also the beautiful cathedral. I stayed in an old inn in Shifnal for a couple of weeks while I tended to business at the home office in Albrighton. I couldn’t get over all the lovely white sheep against those verdant fields! Here in Texas you don’t see sheep all that much because of a 200 year old feud between the cattlemen and the sheep owners. They basically drove all of them out of the territory over grazing rights. You’d think after 200 years they’d learn to get along! Great to meet you….good luck with the writing!! See you on Twitter…Jo

Let me know what you think

