Goodbye, Mr Fluffy-Buttocks

11Mar14

When I started blogging, what seems like two-hundred years ago, my intentions were to keep it about my writing. Not let anything else slip in under the radar.

It didn’t last long.

It’s difficult not to share posts about events as you meander through life. Whether it be a rant about something that’s irked you or sharing of news, good …

… or bad.

IMG_0114

I’ve posted a number of times about our much-loved cat, Munchkin. Or, Munch to you and me. The post that Mr Google sends most readers my way is My Cat Keeps Bumping Into Things. A post about his high blood pressure, retina-popping condition, which thankfully was brought under control with medication.

Anyway, a few weeks ago Munchie’s breathing became laboured. We cat-napped him and took him to see his favourite vet. After a listen to his chest and heart and a diuretic injection, he stabilised with the help of another TWO TABLETS a day and some potassium powder to mix into his food. That added to the three other tablets and twice-daily insulin injections!

At the end of February, his breathing worsened again. Another trip to the vets where they drained fluid from around his lungs. The vets hoped that would help his breathing, but the diuretics had obviously stopped working. Munch stopped eating and drinking despite not having his insulin, which should have made him thirsty and eat like a how-many-hotdogs-can-you-eat-in-sixty-seconds contestant.

One final visit to the vets where Munch started his final nap.

Who knew that a bundle of fluff we first saw eating dried bread in a neighbour’s garden would dominate our lives for so long? He survived many years after having a cancerous lump removed from his tail. As a stray he would have died a few years back without treatment.

We did our best for him and he repaid us with his effortless glamour and barely audible squeaking. We loved him despite his habit of climbing into the litter tray and then peeing over the edge onto the floor! Or moving off the easily cleaned laminate/wood floor and onto a carpeted area when he tried to cough-up a fur-ball.

The house is quiet without him, but I’m thankful that we have many photographs and videos of him to remember his ways.

We’ll have a prolonged break from being pet slaves now. The last year or so has been dominated by the furry little fella and we need a break. Maybe one day.

Thanks for reading.

Our cat Munch

41 Responses to “Goodbye, Mr Fluffy-Buttocks”

  1. Pete, I’m so sorry about Munch. :(

  2. “effortless glamour” says it exactly about cats. Munch looks like he was one happy pet.

    • He was certainly relaxed until the vacuum cleaner roared into life! He spent no time on maintaining those good looks either :)

  3. 5 karengadient

    So sorry to hear. Munch was a unique fellow.

  4. Ah Pete, I’m so sorry. I know Munchkin held a special place in your hearts. For all my moaning about Oscar, they do get under your skin ( and everything else) and their absence is noticeable.
    On the plus side no more messes to clean up alongside the litter tray.
    On the minus side, no more figuring out whether you’ve done something wrong when they saunter past, tails in the air, ignoring all the little brrrps you utter to get them to sit on your lap and use you as a pincushion.
    My very best wishes to you and I hope a new Munchkin comes along one day to captivate you all over again.

  5. I am sorry to hear about Munch. We lost our own Cat called Lily and dog called Monty back in 2007, just 6 weeks apart. At that point we said no more, as these furry and hairy friends leave such a gap. Then in 2010 We were introduced to another Border Terrier called Stanley who was in much need of love and affection. We bought him home, changed his name and now a little hairy man dominates our life (and our bed). We underestimate just how much we love them and they love us.

    All the best, I hope one day it will feel right to acquire a new furry friend!

    • Thanks, Julie. One day it might call us again to care for a pet or two. Good you’ve found another to dominate your life. :)

  6. 11 Jools

    I too know the joy of a surprise ‘stray’ arriving in your household and staying for years and years – my childhood cat was one such permanent house-guest. Sad to hear Munch is gone, all good wishes to his loving carers.

  7. Oh, so sorry to hear the news, Pete. Munch was a true character, and I understand how much you’ll miss him. I’ve never been able to “replace” my childhood dog. Maybe someday when I’m retired, but decades later, I still can’t do it. But that’s just me. Take comfort in your memories, where Munch will live on.

    • Thank you. The retired stage sounds like an ideal time to revisit the pet ownership. He will live on with us for sure. :)

  8. Sorry to hear about your loss, Pete, it’s sad when a beloved pet takes that final nap. He may have started out as a stray but you gave Munch the best life he could possibly have, you can take comfort from that.

    • Thanks, Jacqueline. We certainly did our best by him and as he didn’t leave us for someone else, I think he appreciated it. :)

  9. Pete, I am so sorry about Munch. I enjoyed his tales on your blog, and I am so grateful that he had a good home. He was a lucky cat, you did him good.

  10. I am so sorry to here about Munchie, Pete. That’s the hard part of having pets- they steal your heart and then pass on. We’ve lost several of our cats in the last couple of years and your post brought tears to my eyes, Munchkin had a good life with you; you blessed each other.

  11. I am so sorry, Pete. I’m glad you have photos and fond memories of Munch. I enjoyed the posts about Munch very much.

  12. What a sweet brave boy he was, I’m really sorry for your loss.

  13. From your neighbour’s garden, into your life and then out into ours, Munchie’s fan-base was wide and his way to cat heaven accompanied by no few tears, I think…

  14. I’m so sorry Pete. A pet is a member of the family, and as such we mourn them when they pass on. RIP, Munch.

  15. I’m so sorry for your loss of a treasured pet.

  16. So long Munch! You made his days happy, you did good by him.

  17. So sorry for your loss. And I could say all the usual things: “He’s not suffering any more,” but that doesn’t mean you aren’t suffering for having lost him. You have my deepest sympathies.

  18. I’m so sorry for your loss, Pete. Your little Munch was quite the cutie patootie (even if his litter box aim was somewhat less than stellar).

  19. So sorry for your loss. As you might know (because I blogged about it), I lost my 17-year-old Tommy and 12-year-old Lucy last year–both once-feral cats. I mourned them until the grief changed to gratitude for the time I got to spend with them. Our precious fur-babies sure take up a huge space in our hearts! And yes, I do believe we’ll see them at the Rainbow Bridge. Best wishes, Pete!

  20. Sending you positive thoughts from here in San Diego. Munch will be there to meet you on the other side. Meanwhile, please don’t give up on pets. There are so many abused and neglected pets who need a loving home and loving people.

  21. Pete, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Pets are family and it hurts so much when we have to let them go. You did everything you could for Munch and he had a much better life for having been yours. Sending lots of hugs.

  22. Coming in late here Pete. I am so very sorry to hear your furry friend had to go on his way. we’ve parted with quite a few over the years now and every one is so very sad. They give us so much love, and in the case of cats keep us on our toes! Once you’ve grieved you will find yourselves enslaved again.


Let me know what you think

