Mars One – Update

16Jan14

No. I didn’t bow to pressure from my wife and sign-up for the one-way journey to the red planet.

Just in case you were wondering.

If you have NO IDEA what I’m talking about then I’m used to that, but I posted about this project last January and the post is here for your reading pleasure.

Mars One is a project to send us humanoids on a one-way trip to Mars. This is not like being sent to the naughty corner. This is a life-changing opportunity and plenty of people have applied to have one of these as their supermarket trolley.

Image courtesy of Victor Habbick / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Victor Habbick / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

In fact, their mission statement reads as thus:

Mars One is a not-for-profit foundation that will establish permanent human life on Mars. Human settlement on Mars is possible today with existing technologies. Mars One’s mission plan integrates components that are well tested and readily available from industry leaders worldwide. The first footprint on Mars and lives of the crew thereon will captivate and inspire generations. It is this public interest that will help finance this human mission to Mars.

An unbelievable 202,586 people from more than 140 countries of this world applied to take the journey of new discovery. 24% of these were from America, 10% from India and Great Britain showing a healthy 4% of applications. Anything to avoid the X-Factor!

The plan is that by next year they will have six to ten teams of four volunteers to undertake the 7-year training to be ready to fly off to another world by 2023.

Wow!

At the end of December Mars One announced 1,058 people had been put through to the next phase.

I hope this works. I keep my fingers crossed until they HURT in the hope that this happens during my lifetime. I’m envious of the 1,058 people and the adventure they’re about to embark upon just to have the chance to be one of the teams.

My previous post asked Where is all the ALIEN footage? Well some of these people will get a chance to be an Alien landing on a foreign planet. I might EXPLODE with excitement.

I’ll keep you updated or you can visit the official website: http://www.mars-one.com/

32 Responses to “Mars One – Update”

  1. How bizarre! I had no idea such a thing was even occurring. The sci-fi future is here, I guess.

  2. I know! How exciting. Thanks for the updates and the link.

    • No problem. I’m dead jealous for the people through to the next stage. Great chance for the adventure of a lifetime :)

  3. I am in love with the concept of Mars One. I even bought a Mars One t-shirt, lol. I would never go to Mars myself — I’m afraid I’m not brave enough for that, and I just know I’d develop some horrible medical condition the instant I shot off-planet and there’d be no doctors out there to help me. I’m a bit of a hypochondriac, lol. I hadn’t heard that they’ve narrowed it down to 1000 people! I’m fascinated to know what they’ll be teaching the astronauts in this 7 year boot camp. How to use the equipment, obviously. Probably medical training … how to survive on an alien planet …

    • And, how to make a decent cup of tea from Martian soil!

      I think they will put the teams in isolation so they just have the four team members in a pod environment. I guess they’ll need to see whether they kill each other!

      • And that’s such a huge thing … stuck with the same 10 people for the rest of your life … PLUS cameras aimed at you 24/7 … they’re going to have to find the most relaxed people in the world who are also responsible and capable. I have a feeling it’s going to be quite the hunt :)

  4. The journey sounds great (although I would never do it myself), but the big question is: and then what? I guess will wait and see. Interesting indeed.

    • They seem to have a plan to keep sending us out there to build the community! I would imagine they’ll do a spot of gardening to grow produce and a lot of exploration.

      They say they’ll be selling television rights so hopefully we’ll get to watch what they do :)

  5. Are you sure your wife didn’t already buy you that one-way ticket?

    • When I mentioned they’d narrowed it down to a thousand she sounded like she already knew!

      Gulp!

      What a present though. For me the adventure of a lifetime. For her, peace and quiet!

  6. I am in awe that anyone would really sign up for such an exploit. I would imagine they would have to have a well-rounded group of people, right?

    However, can I ask what gives us the right to assume we can invade another planet? Just because we have the technology doesn’t mean we should. I am not necessarily against space exploration, but I think we have far too many issues and problems on our planet (which we caused) and have no business risking another one. I would much rather see that funding go toward saving planet Earth, because it’s in trouble.

    That being said, it is exciting indeed. I wish my grandfather were around to hear about it. I think he’d get a kick out of it. :)

    • I agree. We do seem to be spending money on basically a big holiday for a family of four!

      There is a romantic notion of journeying to another planet, but we’ve screwed this one up. Hopefully we don’t do the same to Mars.

  7. I doubt I would have had the courage to leave Europe and come to the New World in the 1600s, and that was still on the same planet! I know I couldn’t handle colonizing another planet—especially the very first one in human history. It’ll be interesting to see how this goes. :)

    • I agree. I still live in my hometown, only a couple of miles from the house I grew up in so this is MAJOR courage.

      I just wish it was happening next week!

  8. For Mars One to receive the support that it needs for sustainability, There will need to be some financial return. Even Isabella was looking for financial return from the New World. It’s sad but true. I hope that I get to see it in my lifetime. It is exciting to the beginnings of true space exploration.

    • They’ve said it’ll cost about $6bn for the first phase and then $4bn per mission. They’ll hope to sell the TV rights for the build-up and then the missions. Like you say, they’ll need more than that to make this happen. I just hope they do!

  9. Fascinating. I’m note sure how this one passed me by – so thanks for the discovery! I assume they have strategies to prevent them from going mad on the way…

    • Hmmm I would hope so. Nothing worse than Columbus setting sail and his boats sinking due to madness amongst the crew. This is a much smaller venture. Could be some serious red faces amongst the psychologists!

  10. I had heard about this, briefly, Pete ~ when my son tried to sell it to my husband and myself as the perfect retirement plan! ‘Just think how famous you’ll be, Mum!’…….I don’t think so! LOL!

  11. I can think of plenty of people I’d like to sign up for this.

  12. 25 spunkonastick

    I’d heard about this. I hope we do get to see it happen in our lifetime.

  13. Seven year training… no. By the time they’re available I may be old and entitled to pensioner discount but I’ll wait for commercial passenger flights, I think ;)

  14. Very intriguing. I didn’t know about this either. Seven years training. Wow, that’s a long commitment to one goal.


Let me know what you think

