Recommended Book: Dexter is Delicious by Jeff Lindsay

08Apr12

Overview (official blurb)

Even serial killers have family…

Everything’s changing for our friendly neighbourhood serial killer. As if getting married wasn’t enough to complete his nice-guy persona, Dexter is now the proud father of a baby girl. And disconcertingly, he actually seems to care. But even if fatherhood is distracting Dexter from his midnight excursions to rid Miami of a few more lowlifes, there’s no let-up at work. Two young girls are missing – and it’s not long before one of the bodies turns up, partially eaten. But as Dexter and Miami PD’s finest investigate, Dexter can’t shake the feeling that somebody’s watching him…

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

My Review

This is the fifth book in the Dexter series.

I always judge a book by whether or not the story stays with me after I’ve finished reading. When I decided to start writing book reviews I made the conscious decision to wait a few days after I’d finished a book to let the story wash over me a little. Some stories you forget about, but this is not one of them. This story just keeps coming back and certain scenes keep popping into my mind. I like it when they do that.

This book’s written in the first person and the entire book is from the main protagonist’s point of view. I have to say, for me, the narrative voice is spot on. There is a lot of humour injected into Dexter’s view of the world and the balance works well.

I’ve read a few reviews on Amazon that say how disappointed some people are with this story and I completely disagree. I enjoyed reading this from start to finish and once I got into the flow I only stopped reading when my eyes wouldn’t stay open. For consecutive evenings I stayed up later than planned because I HAD to keep reading. That is always a good sign.

This is a book about a serial killer and there’s a lot of bad language and scenes of a violent nature, which you’d expect from a book about a serial killer! If you don’t mind that type of thing then I highly recommend this book and all the series. And if you haven’t seen the TV programme I recommend that too!

*

This is the fourth book I have read for the Eclectic Reading Challenge 2012. This is the book for the Crime/Mystery category.

12 Responses to “Recommended Book: Dexter is Delicious by Jeff Lindsay”

  1. I like when a story stays with me. That is a nice way to judge books when you review them. :)

  2. Completely agree about a story staying with – always a sign of a great read, regardless of how “deep” it is or isn’t.

    Been a fan of the books and TV series, but definitely behind on both of them. I did hear that the later books were not as good so it’s good to see a review say otherwise.
    Sometimes people just get sick of a thing after a point or start expecting the same shock and awe or cheap thrills or “world-changing” new concept or something – but that only happens at the start, after that the story carries on.
    There’s just no pleasing some people! :D

    Cheers!

    • Thanks for commenting. There was a dip for book three, but this book was my favourite of the five so far. You are right, there is no pleasing some people. The books are what they are. They are easy to read and good entertainment.

  3. 5 shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    I couldn’t get involved in the tv show so I have been reluctant to try the books, I am glad you enjoyed this so much though
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Thanks, I like it when I find a series that I know I will like. When you don’t read much a go to author is a GREAT thing.

  4. Sounds like my type of reading. Going on my list.


  1. 1 Dexter killer | Sekun
  2. 2 Dexter | Yummy Lummy
  3. 3 April 12 – Update « Pete Denton – Writer
  4. 4 Eclectic Reading in 2012 « Pete Denton – Writer

Let me know what you think

