Forensic Science and Crime Writing

12Sep11
UF_Forensic Science
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve just had the news that I’ve passed my latest OU course: Elements of Forensic Science.

This is one of the short courses at the OU lasting 12 weeks and whilst I’d love to add CSI to my title that was not the reason I took the course. (Good job as it would also not get me any way near to being called a CSI!)

I write crime fiction. What better way to enhance my knowledge of all things forensic than doing this course?? I decided to treat this like a 12 week-long period of research. And it did not disappoint.

From learning all about DNA, evidence gathering, body fluids, fingerprinting and the role in the courtroom it has helped me a great deal. There were a some procedural elements in the draft of my novel that  I can now update. Just little details but it is those that will hopefully make my novel feel more like the real deal.

The book that came with the course also has chapters not covered during the 12 weeks: Trace and Contact evidence for hairs and fibres etc, firearms and much, much more.

Even better was that I used Tesco clubcard vouchers to pay for the course, win win!

The course goes into more detail than I would want to put into my stories but I feel I have a broader understanding of the role of the forensic scientist and the types of evidence I can weave into my writing.

Thanks for reading.



One Response to “Forensic Science and Crime Writing”

  1. What a totally cool thing to do! I’d love to take a forensics course too (lack of these types of opportunities is one of the only laments I have about small town life)–though I do other interesting things that fill the well.

    “The course goes into more detail than I would want to put into my stories but I feel I have a broader understanding of the role of the forensic scientist and the types of evidence I can weave into my writing.”

    Absolutely! As Stephen King says, “It all goes in.” (Or he says something like that, anyway ;)).

    I’ve read about three of your posts on my lunch break–I’m enjoying your blog very much.


Let me know what you think

